tennis-men-d3 flag

NCAA | May 7, 2018

2018 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship Selections

Emory wins the 2017 DIII Men's Tennis Championship

 INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first-, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Thursday-Saturday, May 10-12, or Friday-Sunday, May 11-13. Claremont- Mudd-Scripps will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 21-26 at The Biszantz Family Tenns Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 9.

MORE: View the interactive bracket | Printable

The championship provides for a 43-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 36 conference champions, which form "Pool A." One team is selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Franciscan (15-9)
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (20-4)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (20-5)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (18-3)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Baruch (10-5)
College Conferences of Illinois and Wisconsin Augustana (Illinois) (18-10)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini (12-5)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Nichols (19-3)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah (10-7)
Empire 8 Stevens Institute of Technology (15-9)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Wilkes (20-5)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Ramapo (11-5)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman (17-10)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe (24-5)
Landmark Conference Goucher (23-4)
Liberty League Rensselaer (15-3)
Little East Conference Salem State (13-4)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope (10-10)
Midwest Conference Grinnell (22-4)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus (23-8)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Bowdoin (19-1)
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference MIT (11-7)
North Atlantic Conference Colby-Sawyer (9-10)
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon (19-4)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia (Wisconsin) (15-11)
Northwest Conference Whitman (16-7)
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll (12-8)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (12-6)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Thomas More (13-3)
Skyline Conference Yeshiva (13-5)
Southern Athletic Association Sewanee (Univ. of the South) (21-5)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (28-3)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (15-11)
University Athletic Association Chicago (16-4)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Northwestern-St. Paul (13-10)
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan (18-3)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

UC Santa Cruz (4-9)  

Amherst (11-6) Middlebury (20-4)
Carnegie Mellon (14-7) Washington U. in St. Louis (15-8)
Emory (16-4) Williams (13-4)

Emory is the defending national champion, having defeated Claremont-M-S, 5-2, to claim the team title. For more information about the championship, including a championship bracket, log on to




UChicago defeats Case Western Reserve to win the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title

UChicago downed Case Western Reserve 5-2 in the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title match. Here's what you need to know.

Virginia defeats Kentucky to win the NCAA DI men's tennis championship for a 5th time

Virginia is DI men's tennis national champion in the team bracket for the fifth time in program history. The Cavaliers swept Kentucky, 4-0, Sunday afternoon in Champaign, Illinois.

Barry wins 2022 men's DII tennis national title for third-straight championship

Barry took down Wayne State, 4-1, to win its third-straight national championship and sixth since 2010.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners