tennis-men-d1 flag

NCAA | May 3, 2021

Teams announced for 2021 NCAA DI men’s tennis championship

DI men's tennis: 2021 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2021 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Due to the health and safety protocols surrounding the pandemic, first- and second-round sites were selected from a group of 20 predetermined sites rather than awarded to strictly the top seeded teams. Seed was factored into the final determination of the sites, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

First- and second-round competition takes place May 7-8 or 8-9 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Florida, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 17-28. The event will be hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Greater Orlando Sports Commission.

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

During the championship, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches. The complete list of teams and sites is included on the official bracket, which is available at

Twenty-nine conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2021 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

American Athletic - University of Central Florida
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
ASUN – Liberty
Atlantic 10 – VCU
Big East – DePaul
Big Sky – Northern Arizona
Big South – Presbyterian
Big Ten – Illinois
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – UC Santa Barbara
Colonial – University of North Carolina Wilmington
Conference USA – Middle Tennessee
Horizon – Cleveland State
MAAC – Monmouth
Mid-American – Western Michigan
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Mountain West – New Mexico
Northeast – Fairleigh Dickinson
Ohio Valley – Belmont
Pac-12 – Southern California
Patriot – Navy
SEC – Tennessee
Southern – East Tennessee State
Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC – Alabama A&M
Summit –Denver
Sun Belt – South Alabama
West Coast – Pepperdine
WAC – Grand Canyon

Tennessee State, North Carolina Central win 2023 HBCU national tennis championships

Tennessee State's men's tennis program and North Carolina Central's women's tennis program won the 2023 HBCU national championships.

Top moments from Ben Shelton's college stardom at Florida

Ben Shelton has become the second former collegiate tennis player to reach the U.S. Open semifinals in nearly 25 years. Here's as a look through his finest moments as a Florida Gator.

DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles 2023 title winners

Here are the winners of the 2023 DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles championships.