Emory 5, Washington & Lee 3

May 20, 2005

Emory University won its third consecutive NCAA Division III national championship with a 5-3 win against previously unbeaten and top-seeded Washington & Lee University (Va.).

Emory becomes the first Division III school ever to win three consecutive national women's team titles. The feat has been accomplished once in Division I and three times in Division II.

This is Emory's fourth national championship overall, tying a Division III record it shares with California-San Diego, who later switched affiliation to NCAA Division II. Emory won its first national title in 1996.

Amy Smith has had a hand in all four national titles. She coached the last three championships and played No. 1 singles for the 1996 national champions. Smith holds the distinction of being the first female, in any NCAA division, to win the national team title as a player and coach.

Emory replaced three of its six singles players from the team that won the national title last season. All three replacements were freshmen.

Freshman Indu Anand was a perfect 6-0 in singles and doubles combined this week in the NCAA tournament. She recorded the clinching point in the semifinal win against Amherst (Mass.). She did not drop a set in any of her singles matches.

Chan also was undefeated this week, going 6-0 in singles and doubles. Chan did not drop a set and only lost 10 games combined in three singles matches against the No. 2, 3, and 10 ranked teams in the nation. She clinched the deciding point in Emory's close 5-3 win against Rhodes (Tenn.) in the round of 16.

Today, Emory won two of the three doubles matches, including a 9-8 (3) win by the No. 1 doubles duo of Carina Alberelli and Chan.

Anand and Chan quickly won their singles matches to put Emory within a point of the national title. The championship point was delivered by sophomore Richelle Marasigan, who won at No. 2 singles, 4-6, 6-2, 6-3.

This is the third time Emory has beaten Washington & Lee in the NCAA finals. The other two were 1996 and 2003. The last time the national finals were held in Kalamazoo, site of this year's tournament, was 1996 when Emory beat W&L for the title.

Emory finishes with a 20-3 record, its third consecutive 20-win season, fifth in school history. The others were 1996 and 1997.

Emory was 13-1 this season against national top-25 teams in Division III. Its only loss was 5-4 to Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (Calif.), the No. 11 team in the nation March 27. That came at the end of a stretch of five matches in four days against national top-20 teams, one in which Emory rested one of its regular singles players and had three players slotted higher than usual in the singles lineup.

Emory graduates two seniors, Alberelli and Lindsay Tiemeyer. Alberelli competes in the NCAA individual championships starting Saturday. Tiemeyer was 7-1 at No. 3 doubles with Anand this season, including a perfect 3-0 this week.

May 20, 2005 - NCAA III Women's Tennis Championship Match
Washington & Lee (22-0) vs. Emory (19-3)

Emory d. Washington & Lee 5-3

1. Chan/Alberelli (E) d. Hagerman/Wortham (WL) 8-8(3)
2. Applegate/McClung (WL) d. Burkard/Alexandra Gross (E) 8-4
3. Anand/Tiemeyer (E) d. Lora Farris/Weston (WL) 8-2

1. Lindsay Hagerman (WL) d.Carina Alberelli (E) 6-3, 6-2
2.. Richelle Marasigan (E) d. Kristen McClung (WL) 4-6, 6-2, 6-3
3. Emily Applegate (WL) vs. Serena Burkard (E) 2-6 6-1, 5-2
4. Jamie Chan (E) d. Ginny Wortham (WL) 6-4, 6-3
5. Leah Weston (WL) d.. Linda Tien (E) 5-7, 4-4 ret. inj.
6. Indu Anand (E) d. Katie Kingsbury (WL) 6-3, 6-3

Notes: Marasigan's victory at 2 singles clinched the match. This is Emory's third consecutive D3 Women's Tennis National Championship. The match at #3 singles was abandoned after Emory clinched the championship.

-- Courtesy Emory, Kalamazoo