April 28, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships.

First- and second-round competition will be conducted May 8-10 with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas, hosted by Texas A&M University.  The team championship will be held May 15-19. 

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion.  The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets.  Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

The complete list of teams and sites can be found in the bracket.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

America East – Boston U.
Atlantic 10 – Richmond
Atlantic Coast – Duke
Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
Big East – Notre Dame
Big Sky – Sacramento State
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Northwestern
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – Long Beach State
Colonial – Georgia State
Horizon – Illinois-Chicago
Ivy – Princeton
Metro Atlantic – Fairfield
MAC – Miami (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Wichita State
Mountain West – TCU
Northeast – Long Island
Ohio Valley – Eastern Kentucky
Pacific-10 – Southern California
Patriot – Army
SEC – Georgia
Southern – College of Charleston
Southland – Texas-Arlington
SWAC – Jackson State
Summit – Oral Roberts
Sun Belt – FIU
West Coast – Pepperdine
WAC – Fresno State