April 29, 2009


NCAA Release

- The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the teams and 16 preliminary-round sites of the 2009 NCAA Division II Women’s Tennis Championships.

The 16 preliminary-round tournaments will be conducted May 7-8, 8-9 or 7-9, with the winner of each preliminary-round tournament advancing to the finals in Altamonte Springs, Florida, hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission and Rollins College, May 13-16.  

The championships consist of a 16-team single elimination tournament.  Each of the following eight regions will conduct two preliminary-round tournaments: Atlantic, Central, East, Midwest, South, South Central, Southeast and West.  The selection of teams for the championships is based on prescribed criteria listed in the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships Handbook and approved by the NCAA Division II Championships Committee.

For information pertaining to teams, dates and sites, please see below for regional brackets.

Twenty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2009 women's championships.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below:

California Collegiate Athletic Association – UC San Diego
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference – Philadelphia U.
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Shaw
Conference Carolinas – Erskine
East Coast Conference – Concordia (New York)
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Northwood (Michigan)
Great Lakes Valley Conference – Drury
Gulf South Conference – West Florida
Heartland Conference – St. Edward’s
Lone Star Conference – Abilene Christian
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association – Northwest Missouri State
Northeast-10 Conference – Stonehill
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference – St. Cloud State
Pacific West Conference – Brigham Young-Hawaii
Peach Belt Conference – Armstrong Atlantic State
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference – California (Pennsylvania)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference – Nebraska-Kearney
South Atlantic Conference – Carson Newman
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Tuskegee
Sunshine State Conference – Lynn
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Charleston (West Virginia)

In the finals of the 2008 championships, Armstrong Atlantic State University defeated Lynn, 5-2.

For more information regarding the NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championships, log on to www.ncaa.com


Atlantic Region - California (Pa.)
Atlantic Region - Bloomsburg
Central Region - St. Cloud State
Central Region - Mesa State
East Region - Bentley
East Region - Stonehill
Midwest Region - Northwood (Mich.)
Midwest Region - Drury
South Region - Lynn
South Region - Valdosta State
South Central Region - Abilene Christian
South Central Region - St. Edward's
Southeast Region - Armstrong Atlantic
Southeast Region - Francis Marion
West Region