May 4, 2009


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 47 teams that will compete in the 2009 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.
The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 8-10.  Oglethorpe University and the Gwinnett Sports Commission will co-host the team championships finals, which will be held May 19-21 at Collins Hill Athletic Club in Lawrenceville, Georgia.  Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 6.  

The championship provides for a 47-team tournament.  Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 33 conference champions, which form "Pool A."  Six teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C).  The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.
The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Click here for the full release!