AUGUSTA, Ga. -- Top-ranked Armstrong Atlantic State claimed its eighth straight Peach Belt Conference tournament title with a 5-1 win against eighth-ranked Columbus State on Sunday at the Newman Tennis Center.

The Lady Pirates (24-2) have captured every PBC tournament title since 2004 and Armstrong has won 17 of 20 women's tennis tournament titles since league tennis play began in 1992. Columbus State (16-5) falls to 0-5 all-time in PBC women's tennis championship matches.

Armstrong won two of three doubles matches to take a 2-1 lead after doubles. The No. 3-ranked duo of Alida Muller-Wehlau and Barbora Krtickova downed No. 13-ranked Loraine Favoretto and Madeline Johnson, 8-5, at No. 1 doubles. The No. 14-ranked duo of Kathleen Henry and Tina Ronel beat Tracy Castillo and Olivera Jokic, 8-4, at No. 2 doubles. Columbus State's doubles point came at No. 3 doubles as Renata Paiva and Andrea Redrado beat Aleksandra Filipovski and Jessica Gardefjord, 8-3.

The Lady Pirates then clinched the title with three straight-set singles matches. No. 14-ranked Filipovski knocked off Johnson, 6-2, 6-1, at No. 3 singles, while No. 46-ranked Henry beat Jokic, 6-2, 6-3, at No. 5 singles. No. 5-ranked Muller-Wehlau finished things off with a 6-2, 6-3 win over Castillo at No. 1 singles.

Muller-Wehlau was named the 2011 PBC Tournament singles MVP, while Muller-Wehlau and Krtickova were named the doubles MVPs.

With the league tournament title, Armstrong earns the PBC's automatic bid into the 2011 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championships. Armstrong begins its NCAA title defense on May 1-3 as the Lady Pirates will host one of two NCAA Southeast Regionals at Bacon Park.