Interactive Bracket  Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. Per new NCAA policy, the top-16 seeds were guaranteed to host, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

"We are excited that the championship has a true national feel to it, with each of the top-16 teams hosting the first two rounds of the tournament and with the new provision in place that prevents conference opponents from playing one another in the early stages of the championship," said Cathy Beene, the associate athletic director and senior woman administrator at Georgia Southern, and chair of the Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Committee. "This gives the potential for the country's top teams to gather in Athens to play for the national title, which is what we think every stakeholder wants. We are looking forward to some outstanding tennis over the next couple of weeks."

First- and second-round competition takes place May 11-12 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 17-22.  The event will be hosted by the University of Georgia. 

The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

Conference Automatic Qualifiers (31)
America East Stony Brook
Atlantic 10 Richmond
Atlantic Coast Duke
Atlantic Sun North Florida
Big East Notre Dame
Big Sky Sacramento State
Big South Winthrop
Big Ten Purdue
Big 12 Texas
Big West Long Beach State
Colonial VCU
Conference USA Tulsa
Horizon Illinois-Chicago
Ivy Yale
MAAC Fairfield
Mid-American Akron
Mid-Eastern South Carolina State
Missouri Valley Wichita State
Mountain West TCU
Northeast Fairleigh Dickinson
Ohio Valley Eastern Kentucky
Pacific-12 Stanford
Patriot Army
SEC Florida
Southern College of Charleston
Southland Stephen F. Austin
SWAC Southern University
Summit Oral Roberts
Sun Belt North Texas
West Coast San Diego
WAC Hawaii