Printable Bracket Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2012 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championship.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 10-13. Meredith College and the Town of Cary will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 21-23 at the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 9. 

The championship provides for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 39 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Three teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Automatic Qualifiers
Conference School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend (10-4)
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (18-4)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (15-7)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (16-5)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Hunter (10-6)
College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin Wheaton (Ill.) (19-2)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd-Mercy (15-2)
Commonwealth Conference Elizabethtown (17-2)
Empire 8 Ithaca (11-7)
Freedom Conference Wilkes (19-0)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Simmons (12-3)
Great South Athletic Conference Agnes Scott (15-3)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania (11-1)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe (21-3)
Landmark Conference Scranton (9-5)
Little East Conference Salem State (12-2)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope (18-7)
Midwest Conference Grinnell (19-3)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Carleton (18-5)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst (15-3)
New England Women's & Men's Athletics Conference Wellesley (16-6)
New Jersey Athletic Conference TCNJ (15-2)
North Coast Athletic Conference DePauw (17-6)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Castleton (14-4)
Northern Athletics Conference Wisconsin Lutheran (17-10)
Northwest Conference Whitman (17-4)
Ohio Athletic Conference Ohio Northern (22-4)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (20-5)
President’s Athletic Conference Grove City (12-7)
Skyline Conference Mount Saint Mary (N.Y.) (13-3)
Southern California Inter. Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (20-3)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (18-7)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster (19-2)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Geneseo (11-1)
The Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott (14-1)
University Athletic Association Chicago (19-4)
USA South Athletic Conference Methodist (21-3)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater (21-4)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Pool "B" Selections
Skidmore Vassar
UC Santa Cruz  
Pool "C" Selections
Bowdoin Pomona-Pitzer
Carnegie Mellon Tufts
Emory Washington-St. Louis
Middlebury Williams

Williams is the defending national champion, having defeated Amherst 5-3 to claim the team title.