CARY, N.C. -- Emory's Gabrielle Clark upset top-seeded Lok-Sze Leung of Middlebury in the championship match of the 2012 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Singles Championship in Cary, N.C., to become the third player in the program's history to claim a singles title.

Clark, seeded third overall in the draw, claimed a straight-set victory against Leung, winning 6-2, 7-6 (1). After cruising to the early set win, Clark fell behind 5-4 in the second set. She was able to rally off two consecutive games, moving to the brink of the title with a 6-5 lead. However, Leung held serve to even the second set at 6-6, and force a tiebreaker.

Danzig, Devlin win doubles title
Brackets: Singles | Doubles
More: Williams wins fifth consecutive title
Houston: Third time's a charm for Clark
Houston: Architect of a dynasty
Houston: UW-Whitewater pair in quarterfinals
Houston: From Greece to Oberlin

Clark wasted no time taking control in the tiebreaker, winning each of the first five points before Leung scored to make it 5-1. However, Clark would close out the tiebreaker by winning the final two points, and claiming her first national championship.

The singles title was the fourth in the program's history, as Clark joined former Eagles Mary Ellen Gordon (2003 and 2004) and Lorne McManigle (2009) as NCAA singles champions.

Clark finished her 2012 singles campaign on an 11-match winning streak, ending the year with an overall record of 27-4.

With Emory's Dillon Pottish winning the singles championship on the men's side, it marked just the fourth time in NCAA Division III history that the men's and women's individual champion has come from the same school. Emory's Michael Goodwin and Lorne McManigle each won titles in 2009, while Principia's Toby Clark and Courtney Allen accomplished the feat in both 1985 and 1987.