SOUTHLAKE, Texas ­-- No. 5 Abilene Christian won its 25th and final Lone Star Conference title on Saturday following its 5-0 shutout of Midwestern State at the Southlake Tennis Center. Next season the Wildcats are moving to Division I and the Southland Conference.

Since the tournament's inception in 1983, the Wildcats have won the LSC championship at the end of every season with the exception of six -- 1983, 1984, 1998, 2001, 2003 and 2007. Saturday's championship was ACU's sixth in a row and pushed its season-long winning streak to 13, which started March 20 with a doubleheader win vs. North Central Texas and Midwestern State. 

Against the Mustangs, the Wildcats again were without their No. 1 player Julia Mongin, but they still got the job done at every position starting with a 3-0 sweep of doubles.

The No. 14 team of Hannah Kelley and Micah Hermsdorf whipped Sarita Adhikary and Lauren Pineda 8-1 for ACU's first win and then the No. 2 and 3 teams each won 8-6.

In singles, sisters Micah and Kaysie Hermsdorf were the first ones off the court. Micah, who is ranked 32nd nationally, beat Adhikary 6-2, 6-1 at No. 1, while at No. 5, Kaysie topped Pineda 6-3, 6-2.

Micah is 2-2 at No. 1 singles since taking over for Mongin earlier this month and is 13-9 overall. Her younger sister, Kaysie, however, has the team's most wins with 19. She is 9-1 during her last 10 matches.

As the South Central Region's No. 1 team, it's all but assured that the Wildcats will play host to the first two rounds of the NCAA championship on April 28 and 29 at the Eager Tennis Pavilion. ACU beat St. Edward's 5-0 for last year's regional title and a trip to Louisville for the national tournament.