tennis-women-d2 flag

Barry Athletics | February 18, 2014

No. 3 Barry sweeps doubles matches to defeat Nova Southeastern

DAVIE, Fla. -- Barry beat host Nova Southeastern 8-1 on Tuesday. The Buccaneers improved to 5-0 overall, 4-0 in the Sunshine State Conference.

Ranked No. 3 in the nation, the Bucs swept the doubles matches, despite a little challenge at the No. 2 and 3 pairs flights. Barry won five of the six singles matches in consecutive sets.

At No. 1 doubles, Barry's No. 1-ranked duo of Emma Onila and Linda Fritschken beat Sabrina Kierberg and Alex Kaeser 8-2. At No. 2, Kimmy Twelker and Anaeve Pain defeated NSU's Alex Johansson and Charlotte Cote 8-4. Blanka Szavay and Isabela Miro beat the Sharks' No. 3 tandem of Iryna Serdyuk and Linda Kornienko 8-4.

Onila, the No. 8-ranked singles player in the nation, beat the 37th-ranked Johansson 6-0, 6-3, at No. 1 singles. Kierberg upset the 31st-ranked Fritschken 6-4, 7-6 (7-4), at No. 2 singles. That snapped a 21-match win streak for Fritschken, a junior from Berlin, Germany.

At No. 3 singles, Barry's 19th-ranked Karina Goia was a 6-1, 6-3 winner against Carlee Rizzolo. Pain defeated Cote, 6-2, 6-3, at No. 4. Barry's ninth-ranked Elisabeth Abanda was an easy 6-1, 6-2 winner over Kornienko at No. 5. Szavay cruised by Nova's Bianca Roberts 6-1, 6-1, at No. 6.

DII volleyball teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Cal State San Bernardino won its first DII volleyball championship in 2019. These are the 5 programs with the most DII volleyball national championships.

DII women’s soccer teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here are the five programs that have won the most DII women's soccer championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners