tennis-women-d2 flag

Barry Athletics | March 10, 2014

DII: No. 3 Barry defeats fourth ranked foe in eight days

MIAMI SHORES, Fla. -- Had it not been for an injury, Barry may have been looking at a clean sweep. Instead the Buccaneers settled for a 7-2 win against West Florida on Monday.

It was the Bucs' fourth win against a ranked opponent in the past eight days, during a stretch in which Barry scheduled eight matches in a two-week time phrame. Barry ran its record to 13-0 overall, 9-0 against nationally-ranked teams.

Barry's No. 1-ranked doubles team of Linda Fritschen and Emma Onila dropped their match at No. 1 pairs to West Florida's Monika Kochanova and Laure-Eline Faure 8-4. Onila was suffering with injuries during the day, and eventually retired in singles play after a set in her match with the 20th-ranked Kochanova after dropping the first set 6-1.

Those were the only two blemishes in an otherwise productive day for the Buccaneers, who vaulted 19th-ranked Karina Goia into the No. 2 singles spot to replace Fritschken. Goia won her singles match easily 6-0, 6-1 against Faure.

Goia and Abanda, the ninth-ranked doubles tandem in the nation, beat Nina Bubelova and Fernanda Amaral 8-4 at the No. 3 flight. Kimmy Twelker and Ana Pain were 8-1 winners against Kat Dikosavljevic and Giovana Patitucci at No. 2

Pain beat Bubelova 6-1, 6-3 at No. 3. Abanda, the ninth-ranked singles player in the country defeated Dikosavljevic 6-4, 6-1 at No. 4. Twelker was a 6-0, 6-3 winner against Amaral at No. 5. Blanka Szavay needed a third-set super tiebreaker to beat Sarai Flores 2-6, 6-2, 10-2 after responding from a sluggish first set.

Barry Buccaneers win sixth straight DII women's tennis championship

The top-seeded and ranked Barry Buccaneers rallied back from a deficit after doubles to beat the second-ranked and seeded Nova Southeastern Sharks 4-1 at the 2023 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championship.

Barry wins fourth straight DII men's tennis national championship

Barry has now won seven overall men's tennis championships, with the last four straight titles.