tennis-women-d2 flag

Armstrong Atlantic Athletics | March 19, 2014

No. 1 Armstrong Atlantic sweeps No. 4 Hawaii in 9-0 rout

LAS VEGAS, Nev. -- The top-ranked and two-time defending NCAA Division II national champion Armstrong Atlantic team continued its strong spring break trip out west with a 9-0 victory against No. 4 Hawaii Pacific at the Darling Tennis Center.

The Pirates (13-1) have now picked up a pair of 9-0 wins at Darling while Hawaii Pacific (12-2) sees its six-match win streak come to a close, also dropping its first match to a DII team this season.

Armstrong picked up all three doubles matches to take a 3-0 lead heading into singles play. The No. 2-ranked duo of Aleksandra Filipovski and Barbora Krtickova edged Celina Goetti and Karen Ramirez 8-6 at No. 1 doubles, while the No. 6-ranked duo of Marlen Hacke and Olga Kalodzitsa blanked Lorena Gheorghe and Magdalena Smejova 8-0 at No. 2 doubles. Clara Perez and Carolina Prats-Millan completed the doubles sweep with an 8-3 win against Vivian Hansen and Lea Kruse-Utermann at No. 3 doubles.

With tennis legend Steffi Graf in attendance at the Darling Tennis Center during singles play, Armstrong swept all six singles matches to complete the sweep. No. 3-ranked Filipovski downed Ramirez 6-0, 6-4 at No. 1 singles, while No. 16-ranked Hacke bested Gheorghe 6-2, 6-1 at No. 3 singles. Prats-Millan downed Smejova 6-2, 6-1 at No. 4 singles and No. 6-ranked Perez bested Hansen, 6-4, 6-4, at No. 5 singles. No. 24-ranked Olga Kalodzitsa defeated Kruse-Utermann 6-2, 6-2 at No. 6 singles. No. 15-ranked Krtickova had to go to a third-set 10-point tiebreaker to outlast No. 34-ranked Goetti 6-4, 3-6 (10-6) to round out the singles scoring.

DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles 2023 title winners

Here are the winners of the 2023 DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles championships.

North Carolina wins 2023 DI women's tennis national championship

North Carolina won the 2023 Division I women's tennis team national championship downing NC State 4-1.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's tennis repeats as DIII national champions

For the second year in a row, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps is taking home the DIII women's tennis national title.