tennis-women-d2 flag

Lynn Athletics | April 3, 2014

No. 5 Lynn defeats No. 16 Nova Southeastern, remains perfect in conference

BOCA RATON, Fla. -- No. 5 Lynn defeated No. 16 Nova Southeastern 8-1 to remain undefeated in Sunshine State Conference play on Thursday afternoon. The country’s top doubles team of Valentine Confalonieri and Ioana Ivan had a dominate performance at No. 1 doubles when they blanked the Sharks top team. The win improves the Blue & White’s record to 25-0 all-time versus the Nova Southeastern.

Lynn’s No. 2 doubles team of Andrea Berkova and Rosalie Willig gave the Fighting Knights their first point with an 8-3 win against NSU’s Alex Johansson and Carlee Rizzolo. Less than a minute later No. 1 Confalonieri and Ivan wrapped up an 8-0 win against Sabrina Kierber and Alex Kaeser for a 2-0 lead. The Sharks’ No. 3 doubles team of Linda Kornienko and Juliet Serabian defeated Lynn’s Alina Jane and Aleks Vukadinovic 8-1 to avoid the doubles sweep.

No. 1 Confalonieri beat No. 48 Johansson 6-3, 6-0 to give Lynn it’s third point. No. 46 Willig won 6-3, 6-2, at No. 3 doubles against Serabian to put the Fighting Knights within one point of their 20th victory of the season. Kim Przeszlowski won 6-1, 6-0 at the No. 6 spot to secure the win before Jane won 4-4, 6-2 at No. 5 singles. No. 36 Berkova found herself down a set after losing the opening one 2-6 but bounced back for consecutive 6-2 wins to win the match in three. No. 12 Ivan won her opening set in a close 7-5 battle before winning the second set 7-6 (7-3).

DII men's basketball player of the year candidates

Here are 18 DII men's basketball players in the conversation as the preseason player of the year. The season begins Nov. 1 and Trevor Hudgins leads the defending champion Northwest Missouri State Bearcats.

DII men's basketball preseason rankings: The top 25, projected

Here's an early look at our top 25 for the 2019-20 NCAA Division II men's basketball season.

DII men's basketball: Here's how past brackets can help us project a 2019 national champion

We went back through past NCAA DII men's basketball brackets to see if history and trends can predict the 2019 NCAA DII tournament champion.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners