tennis-women-d1 flag | May 17, 2014

Georgia named top seed in tournament

DI Women's Tennis: 2014 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first and second-round sites for the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

First- and second-round competition takes place May 9-10 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 15-20. The event will be hosted by Georgia. 

β€œThis year the tennis committee put together another outstanding field of competitors, which should make for some great matches at the first and second-round sites and national championship,” said D.J. Gurule, the head women’s tennis coach at Gonzaga and the chair of the Division I men’s and women’s committee. β€œI believe that the brackets have great competitiveness and a national scope of the tournament and I can’t wait to see the teams that advance to Athens, Georgia.”

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets.  Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.

Thirty-two conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below.

American Athletic – South Florida
America East – Stony Brook
Atlantic 10 – VCU
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
Big East – DePaul
Big Sky – Sacramento State
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Northwestern
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – Long Beach State
Colonial – UNC-Wilmington
Conference USA – Rice
Horizon – Youngstown State
Ivy – Princeton
MAAC – Quinnipiac
Mid-American – Miami (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Wichita State
Mountain West – Fresno State
Northeast – Fairleigh Dickinson
Ohio Valley – Murray State
Pacific-12 – California
Patriot – Boston U.
SEC – Georgia
Southern – Elon
Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC – Jackson State
Summit – Denver
Sun Belt – Georgia State
West Coast – Pepperdine
WAC – Idaho


Interactive Printable

DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.