tennis-women-d3 flag | May 5, 2014

Committee names DIII championship field

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 50 teams that will compete in the 2014 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, Friday through Sunday, May 9-11 or Thursday through Saturday, May 8-10. Claremont-M-S will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 19-21 at Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 7.

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

The championships provide for a 50-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 39 conference champions, which form Pool A. Two teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining nine teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Penn State-Behrend (12-9)
American Southwest Conference: Texas-Tyler (19-6)
Capital Athletic Conference: Mary Washington (16-7)
Centennial Conference: Johns Hopkins (21-1)
City University of New York Athletic Conference: Staten Island (17-3)
College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin: Wheaton (Ill.) (15-5)
Colonial States Athletic Conference: Gwynedd-Mercy (17-2)
Commonwealth Conference: Elizabethtown (13-6)
Empire 8: Ithaca (13-6)
Freedom Conference: Wilkes (18-2)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Simmons (13-5)
Great South Athletic Conference: UC Santa Cruz (5-16)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Hanover (15-4)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Coe (19-5)
Landmark Conference: Scranton (11-6)
Liberty League: Skidmore (17-3)
Little East Conference: Bridgewater State (16-1)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Hope (16-5)
Midwest Conference: Grinnell (16-7)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Carleton (18-2)
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Amherst (18-3)
New England Women's & Men's Athletics Conference: MIT (16-4)
New Jersey Athletic Conference: TCNJ (11-6)
North Coast Athletic Conference: DePauw (18-4)
North Eastern Athletic Conference: Colby-Sawyer (11-8)
Northern Athletics Conference: Edgewood (19-8)
Northwest Conference: Whitman (15-9)
Ohio Athletic Conference: Otterbein (20-2)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Washington & Lee (17-2)
President’s Athletic Conference: Westminster (Pa.) (18-1)
Skyline Conference: Farmingdale State (15-2)
Southern California Inter. Athletic Conference: Claremont-M-S (19-7)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Trinity (Texas) (13-8)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Principia (11-10)
State University of New York Athletic Conference: Geneseo State (16-4)
The Commonwealth Coast Conference: Endicott (14-3)
University Athletic Association: Emory (23-2)
USA South Athletic Conference: Methodist (22-2)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Wisconsin-Whitewater (20-5)
The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Pool B Selections:

Berry (17-2)
Sewanee (20-3)

Pool C Selections:

Bowdoin (14-6)
Pomona-Pitzer (15-7)
Carnegie Mellon (17-4)
Tufts (9-9)
Chicago (10-10)
Washington (Mo.) (17-5)
La Verne (16-5)
Williams (19-2)
Middlebury (10-7)

Williams is the defending national champion, having defeated Emory 5-4 to claim the team title.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.

Texas' Peyton Stearns wins 2022 DI women's singles tennis championship; NC State wins doubles title

The 2022 NCAA DI women's tennis championships concluded Saturday, with No. 2-seeded Texas' Peyton Stearns winning the singles national championship and NC State's top-seeded doubles pair of Jaeda Daniel and Nell Miller claiming the doubles title.