tennis-women-d3 flag

Emory Athletics | June 1, 2014

Emory brings national championship back to Atlanta with 5-1 win

CLAREMONT, Calif. -- Emory captured the program's sixth national title on Wednesday, defeating No. 2 Amherst in the finals of the NCAA Division III Championship. The Eagles captured their 16th consecutive match and upped their record to 28-2 following a 5-1 decision against the Jeffs, who closed out their season at 22-4. 

The title is the first for the Eagles since 2006 and joins the 1996, '03, '04 and '05 squads as other Emory teams to win national crowns. Emory's 28 victories represented a school season record and it fashioned a perfect 20-0 won-lost slate against Division III foes during the year.

Emory held a 2-1 lead after the doubles portion of the match with its No. 2 team of sophomore Bea Rosen and junior Rebecca Siegler quickly dispatching the Lord Jeffs' tandem of Jen Newman and Zoe Pangalos 8-1. Shortly after, the Eagles extended their advantage to 2-0 when the No. 3 tandem of senior Brenna Kelly and freshman Katarina Su dominated Safi Aly and Sarah Monteagudo 8-3 for their eighth win in 10 decisions this year. Amherst got on the board at first doubles when Jordan Brewer and Gabby Devlin handed senior Gabrielle Clark and freshman Michelle Satterfield just their second setback in 14 outings, holding on for an 8-5 victory after leading at one point in the match by a 7-2 count. 

Freshman Melissa Goodman accounted for the first of the three singles points that Emory needed to clinch the match, coming through with a methodical 6-1, 6-2, triumph against Sue Ghosh at No. 4, her 23rd victory against nine defeats on the season. Clark boosted Emory to a 4-1 lead, and just one point shy of the title, after battling to a 6-1, 6-4, outcome against Brewer at the No. 1 spot. Freshman Katarina Su then closed out the contest and nailed down the championship at six singles with a 6-2, 6-3, win against Monteagudo, her 26th consecutive singles win, and 28th in 29 outings this year. The Nos. 2, 3 and 5 singles matches were in process when Su's match ended, and go in the books as unfinished.

Emory men, Denison women win 2023 DIII swimming and diving championships

The Emory men and Denison women are the 2023 DIII swimming and diving champions.