tennis-women-d3 flag

James Hill | | May 22, 2014

Hill: Top-seeded Emory takes national crown

CLAREMONT, Calif. -- Top-seeded Emory won its sixth NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championship with a 5-1 victory against No. 2 Amherst on Wednesday at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center.

Emory (28-2) last won the title 2006, which was the end of a four-year championship run. The Eagles also captured the crown in 1996. Last year, Williams defeated the Eagles 5-2 in the final at Kalamazoo, Michigan. Emory took out Amherst 5-4 in the 2013 national semifinals.

Eagles' coach Amy Bryant also claimed her sixth national title. Earlier, Bryant became the first female in NCAA history, in any division, to win the national team championship as a coach and a player. Bryant guided Emory to the top post from 2003-'06, and also won it as an Eagle player in 1996.

But, Bryant was totally focused on the success of her team at the 2014 championships, and not on past accomplishments.

"It's been a while," Bryant, when asked how she compared the championship as a player, and the title earned on Wednesday, said. "The only thing I can think about is how these girls continually amaze me."

Amherst's only point in the match came at No. 1 doubles, when Jordan Brewer and Gabby Devlin beat Gabrielle Clark and Michelle Satterfield 8-5. Brewer and Devlin begin a quest Thursday for their second consecutive NCAA doubles championship. Devlin claims three consecutive crowns, the first which came in 2011, and the second the following year with Laura Danzig.

Clark, the 2012 singles champion, bounced back to beat Brewer 6-1, 6-4 in the No. 1 match.

"We think that singles is different than doubles," Clark, about her singles victory, said. "You just let it go. You don't think about it going in. I had a lot of confidence before the match."

Clark was earlier named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Senior Player of the Year.

The Eagles had little trouble in the tournament hosted by Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges. Emory took out ninth-ranked Washington (Mo.) in the quarterfinals, and No. 4 Johns Hopkins in the semis, each by a score of 5-1.

Amherst (22-4) could not emulate the success of its men's team, which won the NCAA championship earlier in the day by beating the host CMS 5-3.

In other ITA Awards announced on Wednesday, Caroline Ward of CMS (last year's doubles runner-up) was named the national player to watch. Samantha Gann of Tufts was selected for the Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award, while Middlebury's Alexandra Field  received the nod as rookie player of the year. Yolanda Duron of La Verne was voted coach of the year, and Sarah Short of Carnegie Mellon was chosen as assistant coach of the year.

Two rounds of singles will be played Thursday, followed by one round of doubles.

Clark is the top singles seed, and Sonja of Washington and Lee is No. 2. Shelby Harris and Lindsay Raulston of Mary Washington are No. 1 in doubles, and Brewer and Devlin.

The singles and doubles finals are slated for Saturday.

Emory men, Denison women win 2023 DIII swimming and diving championships

The Emory men and Denison women are the 2023 DIII swimming and diving champions.