tennis-women-d1 flag | April 5, 2018

Selections announced for DI championship

DI Women's Tennis: 2015 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2015 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 8-9 or 9-10 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 15-19. The event will be hosted by Baylor University.

Bracket: Interactive 

“This bracket culminates a season of hard work by all student-athletes, and has created some excellent pairings in the early rounds of the championship,” said Tad Berkowitz, the head men’s tennis coach at the University of Arizona and the chair of the Division I men’s and women’s committee. “It will be exciting to watch as teams advance to the final site in Waco.”

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.

The complete list of teams and sites are included on the official bracket.

Thirty-two conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2015 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below.

America East Stony Brook
American Athletic Tulsa
Atlantic 10 VCU
Atlantic Coast Virginia
Atlantic Sun North Florida
Big East DePaul
Big Sky Idaho

Big South Charleston Southern
Big Ten Michigan

Big 12 Baylor

Big West Long Beach State
Colonial William and Mary
Conference USA Rice

Horizon Youngstown State

Ivy Princeton

MAAC Quinnipiac
Mid-American Miami (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley Wichita State
Mountain West New Mexico
Northeast Bryant

Ohio Valley Murray State
Pac-12 Southern California
Patriot Boston U.

SEC Vanderbilt

Southern Samford

Southland Northwestern State
SWAC Alcorn State

Summit Denver

Sun Belt South Alabama

West Coast Pepperdine

WAC New Mexico State


DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.