tennis-women-d3 flag | May 4, 2015

NCAA announces DIII women's tennis championship selections

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2015 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first-, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 8-10, or Thursday-Saturday, May 7-9. Ohio Northern University and the Warren County Convention and Visitors Bureau will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 18-20 at Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 6.  

Brackets: Interactive Printable

The championships provide for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 40 conference champions, which form "Pool A." One team was selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Emory is the defending national champion, having defeated Amherst, 5-1, to claim the team title.

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Franciscan University of Steubenville (12-1)
American Southwest Conference The University of Texas at Tyler (16-7)
Capital Athletic Conference University of Mary Washington (16-7)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins University (17-4)
City University of New York Athletic Conference College of Staten Island (13-1)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Augustana College (Illinois) (23-8)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd Mercy College (12-4)
Commonwealth Conference Alvernia University (14-3)
Empire 8 Ithaca College (13-8)
Freedom Conference Wilkes University (18-1)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Simmons College (16-4)
Great South Athletic Conference Agnes Scott College (10-4)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover College (13-2)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe College (21-6)
Landmark Conference Elizabethtown College (16-3)
Liberty League Skidmore College (13-8)
Little East Conference Plymouth State University (14-0)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope College (20-4)
Midwest Conference St. Norbert College (24-7)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) (18-2)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams College (20-0)
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference Babson College (15-8)
New Jersey Athletic Conference The College of New Jersey (14-1)
North Coast Athletic Conference DePauw University (14-8)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Colby-Sawyer College (12-10)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Edgewood College (18-10)
Northwest Conference Whitman College (17-5)
Ohio Athletic Conference Ohio Northern University (20-3)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee University (23-4)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Grove City College (9-6)
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State College (14-1)
Southern Athletic Association University of the South (17-5)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges (22-1)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity University (Texas) (10-8)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster University (14-4)
State University of New York Athletic Conference State University of New York at Geneseo (14-3)
The Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott College (19-4)
University Athletic Association Emory University (16-3)
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan University (14-2)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (22-4)
The College of St. Scholastica (13-10)
Amherst College (13-4)
Bowdoin College (13-5)
University of Chicago (12-11)
Carnegie Mellon University (15-6)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (15-5)
Middlebury College (9-6)
Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (14-6)
Washington University in St. Louis (18-5)

DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.