tennis-women-d1 flag | May 3, 2016

DI Women's Tennis Championship selections announced

DI Women's Tennis: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2016 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 13-14 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 19-24.  The event will be hosted by The University of Tulsa. 

“Months of hard work by all student-athletes culminate in this championship” said Laura Ludwick White, senior associate director of athletics at Drexel University and the chair of the Division I men’s and women’s committee. “There are excellent pairings 

MORE: Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

The complete list of teams and sites is included on the official bracket, which is available at

Thirty-two conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2016 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

America East – Albany (New York)

American Athletic – Tulsa

Atlantic 10 – VCU

Atlantic Coast – North Carolina

Atlantic Sun – North Florida

Big East –Xavier

Big Sky – Idaho

Big South – Winthrop

Big Ten –Ohio State

Big 12 – Oklahoma State

Big West – UC Santa Barbara

Colonial – William and Mary

Conference USA – Rice

Horizon – Youngstown State

Ivy – Princeton

MAAC – Quinnipiac

Mid-American –Ball State

Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State

Missouri Valley – Wichita State

Mountain West – UNLV

Northeast – Fairleigh Dickinson

Ohio Valley – SIUE

Pac-12 – Stanford

Patriot – Boston U.

SEC – Florida

Southern – East Tennessee State

Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

SWAC – Alcorn State

Summit – Denver

Sun Belt – Georgia State

West Coast – Pepperdine


USWNT's NCAA stars at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

20 former NCAA athletes will play for the United States women's national soccer team (USWNT) in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The 2023 Bowerman watch list for men's and women's NCAA track and field

Here are the finalists for the 2023 Bowerman, highlighting some of the best athletes in DI track and field.

Ranking every Bowerman candidate ahead of NCAA track and field championships

NCAA Digital's Stan Becton ranks every men's and women's candidate for The Bowerman, the heisman trophy of collegiate track and field.