tennis-women-d3 flag | May 9, 2016

Division III Women's Tennis Championship Selections Announced

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

BRACKET: Printable | Interactive

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first-, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 13-15, or Thursday-Saturday, May 12-14. Kalamazoo College will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 23-28 at Stowe Stadium in Kalamzaoo, Michigan. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 11.

The championships provide for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 39 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Two teams were selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference

Behrend College

American Southwest Conference

The University of Texas at Tyler

Capital Athletic Conference

University of Mary Washington

Centennial Conference

Johns Hopkins University

City University of New York Athletic Conference

Baruch College

College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin

Wheaton College (Illinois)

Colonial States Athletic Conference

Gwynedd Mercy University

Commonwealth Coast Conference

Endicott College

Empire 8

Ithaca College

Great Northeast Athletic Conference

Simmons College

Great South Athletic Conference

University of California, Santa Cruz

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference

Hanover College

Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Coe College

Landmark Conference

Elizabethtown College

Liberty League

Skidmore College

Little East Conference

University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Hope College

Midwest Conference

Grinnell College

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth

Messiah College

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom

Wilkes University

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Gustavus Adolphus College

New England Small College Athletic Conference

Williams College

New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

New Jersey Athletic Conference

The College of New Jersey

North Coast Athletic Conference

Denison University

North Eastern Athletic Conference

Colby-Sawyer College

Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference

Concordia University Wisconsin

Northwest Conference

Lewis & Clark College

Ohio Athletic Conference

John Carroll University

Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Washington and Lee University

Presidents' Athletic Conference

Westminster College (Pennsylvania)

Skyline Conference

Farmingdale State College

Southern Athletic Association

University of the South

Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference

Trinity University (Texas)

State University of New York Athletic Conference

State University of New York at Geneseo

University Athletic Association

Emory University

USA South Athletic Conference

Methodist University

Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

The following schools were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:


The College of St. Scholastica (19-6)

University of Northwestern-St. Paul (23-6)


Amherst College (12-7) Bowdoin College (12-6) University of Chicago (11-5) Middlebury College (13-4) Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (19-3) Tufts University (11-7) Washington University in St. Louis (15-8) Wesleyan University (Connecticut) (9-4)

Williams is the defending national champion, having defeated Emory, 5-4, to claim the team title.

Texas' Peyton Stearns wins 2022 DI women's singles tennis championship; NC State wins doubles title

The 2022 NCAA DI women's tennis championships concluded Saturday, with No. 2-seeded Texas' Peyton Stearns winning the singles national championship and NC State's top-seeded doubles pair of Jaeda Daniel and Nell Miller claiming the doubles title.

Texas wins the 2022 DI women's tennis title, repeats as champions

Texas downed Oklahoma 4-1 to take home the DI women's tennis team title. Here's what you need to know.

Barry wins 2022 NCAA DII Women's Tennis Championship over Central Oklahoma

Barry won its seventh national championship, and fifth consecutive, by defeating Central Oklahoma 4-1.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners