tennis-women-d1 flag | May 3, 2017

DI women's tennis subcommittee announces 2017 championship selections

DI Women's Tennis: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2017 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

 View the 2017 championship bracket

First- and second-round competition takes place May 12-13 or May 13-14  and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 19-23.  The event will be hosted by the University of Georgia. 

“What started months ago with hundreds of student-athletes from 315 Division I women’s tennis teams has culminated today with 64 teams earning an invitation to the national championships,” said Marija Pientka, senior associate athletics director at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and the chair of the Division I women’s tennis subcommittee. “As parity in the women’s game continues to increase, the early round pairings promise to be exciting and it will be interesting to see which teams advance to the finals site in Athens, Georgia.”

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

During the championships, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches. The complete list of teams and sites is included on the official bracket, which is available at

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2017 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

Conference School
American Athletic South Florida
Atlantic 10 Massachusetts
Atlantic Coast North Carolina
ASUN North Florida
Big East DePaul
Big Sky Idaho
Big South Winthrop
Big Ten Ohio State
Big 12 Texas Tech
Big West UC Santa Barbara
Colonial William & Mary
Conference USA Rice
Horizon Youngstown State
Ivy Dartmouth
MAAC Quinnipiac
Mid-American Buffalo
Mid-Eastern South Carolina State
Missouri Valley Wichita State
Mountain West San Jose State
Northeast LIU Brooklyn
Ohio Valley Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Pac-12 Stanford
Patriot Boston U.
SEC Vanderbilt
Southern Furman
Southland Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC Alabama State
Summit Denver
Sun Belt Louisiana-Monroe
West Coast Pepperdine
WAC University of Missouri-Kansas City

2021 NCAA Division III women's tennis championship selections

The 2021 NCAA Division III women's tennis championship selections have been announced, following the conclusion of regionals.

2021 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships selections announced

The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 42 teams that will compete in the 2021 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.

2021 NCAA DII women’s tennis championship selections announced

The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 36 teams that will be participating in the 2021 D II women’s tennis championship.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners