tennis-women-d3 flag | May 8, 2017

Division III Women's Tennis Championship selections

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 12-14, or Thursday-Saturday, May 11-13. University of the South and the Chattanooga Sports Commission will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 22-27 at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 10. 

2017 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Bracket

The championships provide for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 38 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Two teams were selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining nine teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Emory is the defending national champion, having defeated Williams, 5-4, to claim the team title. For more information about the championships, including the championships bracket, log on to

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Automatic Qualifiers

Conference School (Record)
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference

Franciscan (13-4)

American Southwest Conference East Texas Baptist (18-4)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (19-5)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (16-5)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Baruch (11-5)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Augustana (Illinois) (24-6)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd Mercy (14-0)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Nichols (14-3)
Empire 8 Ithaca (13-6)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island (15-3)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman (13-2)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe College (18-9)
Landmark Conference Elizabethtown (13-4)
Liberty Conference Skidmore (13-8)
Little East Conference Bridgewater State (11-5)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah (11-7)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Wilkes (23-0)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope (18-3)
Midwest Conference St. Norbert College (23-11)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus (19-7)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams (15-4)
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference MIT (10-0)
New Jersey Athletic Conference The College of New Jersey (14-3)
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon (11-9)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Colby-Sawyer (16-5)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia Wisconsin (16-10)
Northwest Conference Whitman (15-5)
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll (16-9)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (20-5)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Westminster (Pennsylvania) (15-5)
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State (14-4)
Southern Athletic Association University of the South (19-5)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (26-0)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (17-7)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Geneseo (9-1)
University Athletic Association Emory (13-5)
USA South Athletic Conference Methodist (17-6)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater (19-7)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Pool “B” Selections

Northwestern-St. Paul (23-5) St. Scholastica (18-5)

Pool “C” Selections

Amherst (6-9) Pomona-Pitzer (15-7)
Bowdoin (14-5) Tufts (14-6)
Chicago (16-4) Wesleyan (Connecticut) (11-4)
Carnegie Mellon (17-7) Washington U. in St. Louis (12-10)
Middlebury (14-4)  

Emory is the defending national champion, having defeated Williams 5-4, to claim the team title. For more information about the championships, including the championships bracket, log on to

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners