tennis-women-d3 flag | May 17, 2017

Individual DIII singles and doubles competitors

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.

For the individual championships, the national committee will select seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee would then select the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool. The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on win-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes. 

The team championship will take place May 22-24, and the individual championships May 25- 27, both at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and will be hosted by the University of the South and the Chattanooga Sports Commission. 

SINGLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):

Camille Smukler, Amherst
Joulia Likhansakaia, Bowdoin
Tess Trinka, Bowdoin (At-Large)
Cori Sidell, Carnegie Mellon
Nicholle Torres, Carnegie Mellon
Nithya Kanagasegar, Case Western Reserve
Ariana Iranpour, Chicago
Catherine Allen, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nicole Tan, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Lauren Hawley, Denison
Bridget Harding, Emory
Michelle Satterfield, Emory
Nancy Benda, Hope
Lauren O’Malley, John Carroll
Ashnaa Rao, Johns Hopkins
Diana Aboubakare, Kenyon
Wiktoria Plawska, Lewis & Clark (At-Large)
Ella Riddle, Linfield
Christina Puccinelli, Middlebury
Caroline Casper, Pomona-Pitzer
Maryann Zhao, Pomona-Pitzer
Sarah Ikioka, Redlands (At-Large)
Clementina Davila, University of the South
Mary Cardone, Southwestern (Texas)
Liza Southwick, Trinity (Texas)
Mina Karamercan, Tufts
Rebecca Ho, Washington U. in St. Louis
Brooke Donnelly, Washington and Lee
Eudice Chong, Wesleyan (Conn.)
Victoria Yu, Wesleyan (Conn.) (At-Large)
Leah Bush, Williams
Juli Raventos, Williams


First alternate: Lauren Goggin, Augustana (Ill.)
Second alternate: Vanja Babunski, Trinity (Conn.)
Third alternate: Carlee Petro, Birmingham-Southern
Fourth alternate: Megan Humphreys, Wisconsin-Whitewater


Joulia Likhanskaia/Samantha Stalder, Bowdoin (At-Large)
Catherine Allen/Katie Kuosman, Claremont-Mudd Scripps
Nicole Tan/Lindsay Brown, Claremont-Mudd Scripps
Lauren Hawley/Emma Alsup, Denison
Bridget Harding/Katarina Su, Emory
Ashnaa Rao/Mikey Barthelmass, Johns Hopkins
Kait Brogan/Taylor Diffley, Mary Washington (At-Large)
Skylar Schossberger/Katy Hughes, Middlebury (At-Large)
Emily Chen/Maryann Zhao, Pomona Pitzer
Sarah Ikioka/Elizabeth Johnson, Redlands (At-Large)
Rebecca Ho/Kaylan Griffith, Washington U. in St. Louis
Tessa Hill/Brooke Donnelly, Washington and Lee
Eudice Chong/Victoria Yu, Wesleyan (Conn.)
Hannah Atkinson/Chloe Henderson, Williams
Juli Raventos/Linda Shin, Williams
Megan Humphreys/Bridgid McGuire, Wisconsin-Whitewater


First alternate: Lauren Louks/Mina Karamercan, Tufts
Second alternate: Kelsey Chen/Camille Smukler, Amherst
Third alternate: Kaysee Orozco/Catherine Blayze, Middlebury
Fourth alternate: Caroline Casper/Arianna Chen, Pomona Pitzer

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced in sequential order by the published list of alternates.

The draw for the individual championship will be done by the women’s tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championship.

The 2016 singles title went to Eudice Chong of Wesleyan (Conn.). Juli Raventos and Linda Shin of Williams College took the doubles title. Emory University is the defending national champion, having defeated Williams 5-4 to claim the team title. For more information about the NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships, log on to

DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.