tennis-women-d3 flag

NCAA | May 7, 2018

2018 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships selections announced

Williams wins the 2017 DIII Women's Tennis Championship

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second- and third- rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 11-13, or Thursday-Saturday, May 10-12. Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd Scripps Colleges will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 21-23 at Biszantz Tennis Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 9.

MORE: View the interactive bracket | Printable

The championships provide for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 40 conference champions, which form "Pool A." One team will be selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining 8 teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.
The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Franciscan (12-5)
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (16-7)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (19-4)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (12-7)
City University of New York Athletic Conference John Jay (11-3)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Wheaton (Illinois) (16-3)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd Mercy (14-3)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Nichols (14-2)
Empire 8 Nazareth (14-4)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) (15-1)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover (15-5)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe (15-13)
Landmark Conference Scranton (18-3)
Liberty League Skidmore (15-5)
Little East Conference Rhode Island College (16-0)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Lebanon Valley (10-6)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Wilkes (15-3)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope (13-8)
Midwest Conference Grinnell (19-4)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus (17-7)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams (18-0)
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference MIT (17-2)
New Jersey Athletic Conference The College of New Jersey (13-1)
North Atlantic Conference Colby-Sawyer (16-5)
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon (20-2)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State-Berks (9-5)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia Wisconsin (20-5)
Northwest Conference Whitman (12-8)
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll (18-6)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (18-7)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Grove City (13-3)
Skyline Conference Yeshiva (10-3)
Southern Athletic Association University of the South (21-4)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (24-2)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (13-10)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Geneseo (10-9)
University Athletic Association Emory (13-4)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica (14-6)
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan (12-3)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater (19-6)


The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Webster (12-5)


Amherst (10-9) Pomona-Pitzer (14-7)
Chicago (17-4) Tufts (12-6)
Carnegie Mellon (19-4) Wesleyan (Connecticut) (12-3)
Middlebury (14-3) Washington U. in St. Louis (13-7)

Williams is the defending national champion, having defeated Emory, 5-4, to claim the team title. For more information about the championships, including the championships bracket, log on to


DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.