tennis-women-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | May 11, 2018

Barry repeats as national champions at the 2018 DII Women's Tennis Championships

Barry captures 2018 DII Women's Tennis Championship

An exciting four days from the DII Women’s Tennis Championships in Surprise, Ariz. have concluded with Barry defeating West Florida, 5-0, for the 2018 national championship.

Interactive bracket | Printable bracket 

Barry came out of the gates hot. After heading into singles play trailing 2-1 in both the quarterfinals and semifinals, the Bucs didn't leave anything to chance, sweeping through doubles with Sonja Larsen/ Verena Schmid and Zuza Maciejewska/Carolin Schmidt winning in dominant 8-3 fashion. West Florida was one day removed from an unthinkable comeback, rallying from a 4-1 deficit to Hawaii Pacific to advance to its first finals since 2007. The Argos would have to do it again to make program history with its first national title ever.

West Florida never got the chance. Verena Schmid came out on fire (6-2, 6-1) and played like the top-ranked player she is. So did Julie Razafindranaly (6-2, 6-2), who won the title-clinching match. The Bucs swept their way to the 2018 national championship.

Barry came into the Surprise Tennis & Racquet Complex the No. 1 seed and that is how it will leave. The Bucs win their second championship in as many years and their fourth since 2011. After a dominating Day 4 in the desert, Barry is the 2018 national champions.

Be sure to relive all the highlights from the 2018 DII Women’s Tennis Championship by scrolling through the blog below.


DII men's tennis championships: Barry comes back from 3-0 deficit to win fourth national championship

The Division II men's tennis championship was held May 21-24 at Altamonte Springs, Florida. Barry defeated Columbus State 4-3 for the 2019 DII men's tennis national championship.

2019 NCAA Division II women’s tennis championship selections

The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 48 teams that will be participating in the 2019 NCAA Division II Women’s Tennis Championship. Preliminary-rounds will be played May 13-14 at on-campus sites. Advancing teams from each site will advance to the finals, May 22-25, at Altamonte Springs, Florida. Rollins College and the Greater Orlando Sports Commission will serve as hosts.

DII women’s soccer teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here are the five programs that have won the most DII women's soccer championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners