tennis-women-d1 flag

Andy Wittry | | May 28, 2022

Texas' Peyton Stearns wins 2022 DI women's singles tennis championship; NC State wins doubles title

Watch: Set tiebreaker determines 2022 NCAA women's tennis champion

The 2022 NCAA DI women's tennis championships concluded Saturday, with No. 2-seeded Texas' Peyton Stearns winning the singles national championship and NC State's top-seeded doubles pair of Jaeda Daniel and Nell Miller claiming the doubles title at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Champaign, Ill. Daniel and Miller defeated Miami's Daevenia Achong and Eden Richardson, 6-2, 7-5 in the doubles national championship.

It was NC State's first doubles national championship.

Stearns defeated Stanford's Connie Ma, 6-3, 6-2, just days after Texas won its second consecutive team national championship and its fourth ever. Texas also won the team national championship in 1993, 1995 and 2021. This year, the No. 4-seeded Longhorns defeated the No. 2-seeded Oklahoma Sooners 4-1 in the championship match.

Click or tap here to view the interactive tournament bracket.

Florida rises, Auburn and Texas join the latest D1baseball rankings

SEC champion Florida sits second while three new teams enter the latest D1Baseball rankings.

The 2023 Bowerman watch list for men's and women's NCAA track and field

Here are the watch lists for the 2023 Bowerman, highlighting some of the best athletes in DI track and field.

The cases for Bowerman women's candidates entering NCAA track and field preliminaries

NCAA Digital's Stan Becton breaks down the top Bowerman women's candidates, analyzing which athletes have the best case for the award at this point of the season.