tennis-women-d1 flag

Andy Wittry | | May 28, 2022

Texas' Peyton Stearns wins 2022 DI women's singles tennis championship; NC State wins doubles title

Watch: Set tiebreaker determines 2022 NCAA women's tennis champion

The 2022 NCAA DI women's tennis championships concluded Saturday, with No. 2-seeded Texas' Peyton Stearns winning the singles national championship and NC State's top-seeded doubles pair of Jaeda Daniel and Nell Miller claiming the doubles title at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Champaign, Ill. Daniel and Miller defeated Miami's Daevenia Achong and Eden Richardson, 6-2, 7-5 in the doubles national championship.

It was NC State's first doubles national championship.

Stearns defeated Stanford's Connie Ma, 6-3, 6-2, just days after Texas won its second consecutive team national championship and its fourth ever. Texas also won the team national championship in 1993, 1995 and 2021. This year, the No. 4-seeded Longhorns defeated the No. 2-seeded Oklahoma Sooners 4-1 in the championship match.

Click or tap here to view the interactive tournament bracket.

College Football Playoff rankings predictions: What conference championship week could look like

The fifth College Football Playoff rankings will be revealed on Tuesday, Nov. 28. Here's what the top 25 could look like.

The 60 Cy Young Award winners who played college baseball

With the presentation of the 2023 Cy Young Award on Wednesday, Nov. 15, we've accumulated a list of 60 MLB Cy Young Award winners who played college baseball. One Cy Young standout from each decade will be featured and include a brief summary of their college career.

Stanford volleyball leaps Wisconsin, Kentucky checks into Week 12 Power 10

With multiple top-ranked upsets this week, the Week 12 power rankings saw some major shifts. Stanford, Louisville and Pitt are this week's biggest winners.