Jan. 17, 2009


Courtesy of Northwestern State

LAKE CHARLES — Opening the 2009 indoor collegiate track and field campaign at the Cowboy Indoor Invitational Friday, Northwestern State enjoyed winning performances from Daniel Yarbrough, Christopher Oyeku, Bradford Matthews, Andrea Warren and two relays, the women’s and the men’s 4x400.

The Demons’ 4x400 relay foursome of Michael Batts, Jamie Emery, Charles Green and Chris Pearson set a McNeese State Recreation Complex record with their first-place 3:15.00 time, more than 12 seconds in front of the second-place quartet from McNeese.

Yarbrough won the weight throw with a 59-8 1/4 throw, more than seven feet past the second-place mark.

Oyeku led a 1-2-3 Demon sweep in the long jump with a winning 21-5 1/4 leap. Right behind were teammates Chris Greer (21-1 1/2) and Matthews (21-0).

Matthews took the triple jump (46-7 1/2)  with NSU capturing four of the top five places. Kennis Byars was third (45-8), Greer fourth (44-5 1/2) and Oyeku fifth (43-9 3/4).

Warren ran a 2:24.53 to win the women’s 800. She joined Carmen Wallace, Jasmine Christopher and Phyllis Iheanacho on the winning 4x400 relay (3:55.79).

Second places for the NSU women came from DeJon Griffin in the weight throw (51-4 1/4), Anna Forest in the 55 meters (7.26) and Iheanacho in the 400 (1:01.40). The Demons got seconds by Corey Jones in the shot put (51-5 1/2) and Michael Hill in the 55 meter hurdles (7.90).

Taking thirds for the Lady Demons were Leslie Jordan in the shot put (40-4 1/4) and Jessica Tuck in the long jump (18-8).

The Northwestern teams will compete at the Razorback Invitational next weekend at Fayetteville on the University of Arkansas campus.