March 1, 2009


Courtesy of The Big 12

College Station, Texas – The Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships wrapped up Feb. 28 at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium, as the Texas men and Texas A&M women claimed team crowns after two days of competition. In front of 3,750 fans, the Longhorns totaled 115 points, and the Aggie women had 130 to secure their team titles. It was UT’s third fourth consecutive and fifth overall men’s championship, while TAMU’s was its third straight.

Texas A&M’s Gabby Mayo, who won high-point performer honors, had an outstanding day with wins in both the women’s 60m hurdles (8.20) and 60m dash. Fellow Aggie Jessica Beard captured the second women’s 400m dash of her career with a mark of 52.35, and Porscha Lucas ran the fastest collegiate time in the 200m dash this year with a 22.94 to win her second title in the event. The Aggies also claimed the women’s 4x400m relay for third straight year, with Beard, Lucas, Allison George and Sandy Wooten combining for a time of 3:38.08. On the field side, women’s triple jumper Yasmine Regis gave A&M valuable points with her win, recording a 13.36m.

For the UT men’s squad, Jacob Hernandez led the way with his third straight 800m run title in 1:48.04, while Tevan Everett placed first in the 600y run (1:08.66) for the third consecutive year. The Longhorns’ Patrick Todd went on to earn a top finish in the 1,000m run, tallying a 2;24.52 mark and marking the fifth straight season a Texas runner has won the event. In the field events, Raymond Harris of UT won the men’s high jump at 2.18m.

Baylor’s Trey Harts took home two individual titles, finishing first in the 60m dash (6.74) and the 200m dash (20.79). He also helped the Bears to a team title in the men’s 4x400m relay (3:06.92) with teammates Marcus Boyd, Jacob Sheuerman and LeJerald Betters, marking BU’s 12th straight relay win. Harts’ effort gave him the male high-point performer award.

Oklahoma State freshman German Fernandez joined Harts in achieving a multi-win day, grabbing the mile (3:55.02) and 3,000m (7:57.71) titles. Fernandez’s time in the mile established a Big 12 meet record and was just two-hundredths of a second off the 25-year NCAA record of 3:55.00.

In the men’s 60m hurdles, Omoghan Osaghae of Texas Tech clocked a 7.75 time to win, while the Red Raiders’ Gil Roberts also captured the men’s 400m dash, tallying a time of 46.08. In addition, Patrick Todd of Texas was crowned champion in the men’s 1,000m run, tallying a 2:24.52 mark.

Missouri’s Shannon Leinert (2:07.95) took the women’s 800m run, and Nichole Jones (Baylor) topped the women’s 1,000m slate with a 2:46.51 showing. Jones’ win was her third straight, as she previously won the event in 2007 and 2008.

The women’s mile run came down to a close match between Jenny Barringer (Colorado) and Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech). Barringer prevailed with a time of 4:25.91, the fastest time ever by any female collegian. Kipyego later ran the 3,000m run, capturing her third straight championship in the event and improving her lead as the winningest Big 12 individual titleholder in conference history with 12 crowns. The eight-time NCAA champion’s time of 9:09.83 in the 3,000 was a meet record and an automatic-qualifying time.

In the field events, Texas won the women’s high jump contest through Destinee Hooker (1.93), and Texas Tech’s Patience Knight also claimed her third women’s shot put title with a 17.12m.  Men’s triple jumper Zuheir Sharif (Texas A&M) took first in his event with a 16.38 performance, while Keith Lloyd (Nebraska) finished first in the men’s shot put (18.09) to close the day. Sharif’s triple jump title was the second of his career, as he also won the event in 2007.

Finally, Kansas State’s Moritz Cleve tallied a first-place finish in the men’s heptathlon, totaling 5,783 points for an NCAA automatic-qualifying mark.

The Big 12’s qualifying teams and individual athletes will return to College Station in less than two weeks, as Texas A&M also hosts the 2009 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships at Gilliam, March 13-14.

1. Texas (115), 2. Nebraska (102.5), 3. Texas A&M (84), 4. Baylor (71), 5. Oklahoma (66), 6. Texas Tech (62), 7. Missouri (56), 8. Oklahoma State (51), 9. Iowa State (49), 10. Kansas State (35), 11. Kansas (32.5), 12. Colorado (16)

1. Texas A&M (130), 2. Texas Tech (103.5), 3. Nebraska (96.5), 4. Baylor (86), 5. Texas (83.5), 6. Oklahoma (65), 7. Kansas State (52) and Missouri (52), 9. Kansas (25.5), 10. (Oklahoma State (18), 11. Iowa State (17), 12. Colorado (11)