Day One Results

MANKATO, Minn. --  The Grand Valley State women more than tripled the field by posting 45 points to take an 31-point lead on Ashland through four events during the opening day of the 2012 NCAA Division II Indoor Track and Field Championships held in the Myers Field House on the campus of Minnesota State University.


Several Division I track and field programs wanted Ryan Loughney to throw weights and hammers for them. A small private Division II school in Ohio wanted him, too.

Do you want the glory, Loughney’s high school coach asked him, or do you want to throw far?

“I said ‘I want to throw far,’” said Loughney, who five years later is a redshirt senior at Ashland, “and that’s what I’m doing now.”

• Complete story, click here

The men’s team race is led by Grand Canyon who scored 25 points – all of which came in the long jump – while Ashland is in second with 20 points and Indianapolis in third with 19 points.

In the men’s weight throw, Ashland’s Ryan Loughney defended his crown from a year ago with a toss of 22.20 meters to pace the field. The Eagles of Ashland saw five competitors reach the championship flight of nine as Richard Quick earned fourth with a toss of 21.18 meters, Garrett Grey was seventh with a heave of 20.27 meters and Cory Meuleman was eighth with a throw of 19.69 meters. Matt Royer of Indianapolis finished second with a throw of 21.36 meters and Derrick Vicars of Findlay was third with a toss of 21.34 meters.

In the women’s weight throw, Grand Valley State finished one-two as the final three throws of the competition resulted in the top-three throws of the meet. GVSU’s Sam Lockhart tossed a meet-record 20.57 meters to surpass her teammate, Liz Murphy, who was second with a toss of 19.93 meters. Findlay junior Jessica Rowland finished third with a throw of 19.89 meters.

Chris Copeland of St. Augustine’s won the high jump with a leap of 2.21 meters while Oliver Harsanyi of Western State finished second at 2.18 meters, marking his third runner-up title. Stone Hill’s Corey Thomas was third with jump of 2.15 meters.

Jillisa Grant – the reigning outdoor champion in the long jump – added an indoor title to her resume as she leaped 6.26 meters, establishing a meet record. The jump bested Norfolk State’s Chandra Sturrup’s mark of 6.24 meters set on March 11, 1995. Ann-Marie Duffus of Grand Canyon was second with a leap of 6.19 meters while Jennifer Zweifel of Truman State finished third with a jump of 5.94.

Grand Canyon took four of the top six positions in the long jump as Karlan Stewart and Ramon Cooper each jumped 7.53. Stewart’s second-longest jump was 7.44, besting Cooper’s jump of 7.43 to earn the victory. Aaron Hill and Kevin Lashley finished fifth and sixth-place respectively for the Lopers with leaps of 7.47 and 7.46.

In the women’s distance medley relay, Grand Valley State won the race with a time of 11:23.35, establishing a meet record.  Adams State was second in 11:29.00 and U-Mary was third in 11:34.00.

The men’s distance medley relay featured Augustana’s Tom Karbo running the final 200-meters in 28.3 to earn the Vikings the victory with a time of 9:46.06. Southern Connecticut State was second with a 9:55.34 and Shippensberg was third with a time of 9:56.36.  Adams State had finished second but was disqualified.

The Lakers of Grand Valley State finished first and third in the women’s pole vault as Kristen Hixon won via misses as she vaulted 4.00 meters, besting Hillsdale’s Kayla Caldwell who matched the height. Jocelyn Kuska of GVSU turned in a third-place finish with a vault of 3.90 meters.

Central Missouri’s Darius Walker enters Saturday's heptathlon as the leader with 3,034 points through four events. Dillon Schrodt of Nebraska-Kearney is third with 2,944 points while Nick Lebron sits third with 2,888.

Grand Valley State’s Betsy Graney enters the finals of the women’s mile as the top-seed after finishing the prelims in 4:53.23. On the men’s side, Matt Daniels of Adams State bested the field as he finished with a time of 4:13.82.

In the women’s 400-meter prelims, St. Augustine’s Kelly Shaw led the way with a time of :54.70, over a half-second faster than the rest of the field. Dominic Smith of American International enters the finals of the 400-meter prelims as the leader racing to a 47.98 in the prelims.

The 60-meter dash saw Lincoln’s (Mo.) Latoya King advance to the finals with a top time of 7.39 while Dominique Hubert finished the men’s prelims with a top time of 6.68.

The women’s 800-meter dash saw Saginaw Valley’s Alycia Wright finish with a top prelim time of 2:11.06 while Southern Connecticut State’s Selasi Lumax was first in the men’s prelims with a time of 1:52.88.

The 60-meter hurdles saw Indira Spence from Adams State finish first in the prelims with a time of 8.23. The men’s 60-meter hurdle prelims was won by  Grand Canyon’s Tyler Sipes with a time of 7.77.

King claimed her second prelim title of the day as she won the 200-meter dash prelims with a time of 24.20. On the men’s side, Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Jonathan Woodson led the prelims with a time of 21.39.