Naperville, Ill. -- Wisconsin-La Crosse led after the first day of competition at the 2013 NCAA Division III Indoor Championships in the Al B. Carius Track. The Eagles had 35.0 team points while UW-Oshkosh was second with 17.0 and UW-Whitewater third with 15.0. Brockport State and Monmouth (Ill.) were tied for fourth with 10.0 points.

La Crosse is seeking its 16th NCAA Division III indoor championship. The Eagles, winners of eight of the last 12 indoor national titles, are seeking their first crown since 2009. North Central College has won the last three national meets.

La Crosse's Jacob Peterson, Cyrus Mason, Jamie Bottcher and David Stilin captured the national crown in the distance medley relay (9:59.58). The Eagles set a facility record in winning its second distance medley relay in school history. Kevin Oelstrom, Eric Svestka, Andrew Boldt and Mike Herlihy captured the NCAA III title in 2006.

Peterson, Mason and Bottcher eanred their first career NCAA III Indoor All-America award Friday while Stilin notched his third career recognition. Stilin, who will compete in the 5,000-meter run Saturday, was a member of La Crosse's fourth-place distance medley relay and placed third in the 5,000 meter run in 2011.

The Eagles' Isaac Vazquez, Rob Rohe, Grant Havard and Bryan Klister all earned All-America honors Friday. Vazquez placed second in the long jump (24-1 1/2) while Rohe was second in the pole vault (16-6 1/2). Havard placed fourth in the weight throw (62-8) while Klister tied for fourth in the pole vault (16-0 1/2).

Vazquez picked up his sixth career NCAA Division III Indoor All-America honor, including his third in the long jump (third in 2011 and 2012). He has three career triple jump honors (eighth in 2010; third in 2011 and 2012). Vazquez is seeded first entering Saturday's triple jump competiton.

Rohe, Havard and Klister each earned their first career indoor All-America accolade Friday.

John Cooper was ninth in the weight throw (59-10 1/4) while Jeffery Hill competed in the pole vault, but no heighted.

In track preliminary action Friday, Alex Koenen (6.93) and David Sikorski (6.93) advanced to Saturday's 60-meter dash final while Jerry Kerska (4:13.35) and Tyler Heinz (4:16.41) advanced to the mile run final. The Eagles' Aric Hoeschen (48.66) qualified for the 400 meter dash final scheduled for Saturday while Sean Royer (1:52.58) advanced to the 800 meter run championship.