trackfield-indoor-men-d3 flag

Wisconsin-La Crosse Athletics | March 14, 2014

Wisconsin-La Crosse leads after Day 1 of championships

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Wisconsin-La Crosse leads after the first day of competition at the Division III indoor championships being held in the Bob Devaney Sports Center. The Eagles have 40.5 team points while Wisconsin-Oshkosh is in second-place with 16.0.

North Central (Ill.) is third with 11.0 points while Central (Iowa), Mount Union, Chicago and Wisconsin-Whitewater are tied for fourth with 10.0.  Dickinson, Dubuque, Haverford and Wartburg are tied for eighth with 8.0. A total of 27 teams scored points.

Qualifiers released
In Friday's action, UW-L's Dominique Neloms captured the national long jump title (24-1 1/2). It is the first career All-America honor for Neloms who becomes the first UW-L student-athlete to capture the indoor long jump crown since Kellen McCrary in 2010. Bill Schroeder (1993) and Andy Basler (2002) are the only other individuals to win the long jump title for UW-L.

The Eagles' Brett Davis placed ninth (22-3 1/2) and Troy Brooks 10th (22-1 1/2) in the long jump Friday.

UW-L's John Cooper and Grant Havard both earned All-America honors in the weight throw Friday as Cooper placed second (64-5) and Havard third (64-2 1/4). It is the second career indoor All-America honor for both Cooper (seventh in weight throw in 2012) and Havard (fourth in weight throw in 2013).

In Friday's pole vault, the Eagles' Rob Rohe and Bryan Klister earned All-America accolades with Rohe finishing third (16-10 3/4) and Klister tying for fourth (15-11).  UW-L's Jeffery HIll was ninth (15-7). Rohe (second in '13) and Klister (fourth in '13) earned their second career All-America honor in the pole vault.

On the track, Alex Ciesielski placed eighth (14:30.95) in the 5,000 to earn his first career NCAA III All-America honor. The Eagles' Josh Dedering finished 11th (14:36.53).

UW-L's distance medley relay of Andrew Rohlman, Cyrus Mason, Cole Hauenstein and Jacob Peterson earned All-America honors Friday with a fourth-place finish. It is the second career All-America award for Mason and Peterson as both were members of UW-L's national champion distance medley relay last season. It is the first career All-America honor of Rohlman and Hauenstein.

In Friday's prelimaries, Peterson advanced to Saturday's mile run (4:13.71) final.

Alex Koenen advanced to the 60 (6.78) and 200 (21.75) finals while Ross Denman qualified for the 400 (48.52) final.

Joe DeRosier failed to advance to Saturday's 60 hurdles final (8.19) while Gerald Kerska did not qualify for the 800 final (1:57.54).

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners