trackfield-indoor-men-d3 flag

Wisconsin-La Crosse Athletics | March 16, 2014

Wisconsin-La Crosse wins second consecutive national title

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Wisconsin-La Crosse captured its 17th NCAA Division III indoor championship Saturday afternoon in the Bob Devaney Sports Center. The 17 indoor crowns are the most in NCAA Division III history. The Eagles finished with 63.5 team points Saturday, winning their second consecutive indoor title and 10th in the last 14 seasons.

Qualifiers released
UW-L has now won a nation-leading 29 NCAA Division III championships in school history (17 indoor; 12 outdoor). The 12 outdoor crowns are also the best in Division III history.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire placed second Saturday with 48.0 points while Wisconsin-Oshkosh was third with 37.5. Wartburg finished fourth with 26.0 points and Mount Union was fifth with 25.5. Wisconsin-Whitewater placed sixth (25.0) followed by North Central (Ill.) in seventh (21.0), Carthage and Wisconsin-Stout tied for eighth (18.0) and Central (Iowa) was 10th (17.0). A total of 68 teams scored points.

UW-L's Alex Koenen earned a pair of individual NCAA III All-America honors Saturday, placing third in the 60-meter dash (6.78) and seventh in the 200 dash (21.80).  It is the second and third career All-America awards for Koenen after finishing fifth in the 60 dash last season.

The Eagles' Ross Denman placed fourth in the 400 dash (48.18) while Jacob Peterson was fifth in the mile run (4:10.40) to earn individual All-America accolades Saturday. It was the first career All-America honor for Denman and third award for Peterson. Peterson was a member of UW-L's fourth-place distance medley relay Friday night and the national champion distance medley relay in 2013.

Denman picked up his second All-America honor of the championships in the final event Saturday as a member of the 4x400 relay as Zak Wallenfang, Dean McGuire, Nick Tehan and Denman finished third (3:14.81). Tehan earned his third career All-America award after being a member of the third-place 4x400 relay in 2013 and sixth-place distance medley relay in 2012. Wallenfang and McGuire each picked up their first career All-America award.

In other results Saturday, UW-L's Ben Tenpas placed ninth in the shot put (52-0) while Dominique Neloms was 11th in the high jump (6-6 1/4). Neloms capture the national long jump title (24-1 1/2) in Friday's action.  He became the fourth UW-L student-athlete to capture the indoor long jump championship, joining Bill Schroeder (1993), Andy Basler (2002) and Kellen McCrary ('10).

NCAA Wrestling Awards standings: Penn State holds top three positions for most dominant in Division I

No. 1 ranked Penn State holds the top three positions for most dominant in Division I. Bo Nickal is first for the Nittany Lions by producing 5.38 average team points per match, followed by Jason Nolf (5.23) and Vincenzo Joseph (4.95). Iowa 165-pounder Alex Marinelli is fourth with 4.74 points, while Cornell 141-pounder Yianni Diakomihalis is fifth with 4.67 points. 

Races remain close in the chase for NCAA Wrestling Awards

The NCAA has released updated standings for the 2019 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships. 

College wrestling: NCAA releases Most Dominant Wrestler standings for first time in 2019

The No. 1 ranked team in the country is appropriately well represented as four Nittany Lions lead the pack for Most Dominant in Division I. Bo Nickal is first for Penn State by producing 5.33 average team points per match, followed by Jason Nolf (5.16), Vincenzo Joseph (5) and Shakur Rasheed (4.8). 

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners