trackfield-indoor-men-d3 flag

Wis.-Eau Claire Athletics | March 13, 2016

Wis.-Eau Claire wins second-straight national championship

2015 DIII Indoor Track & Field Championship: Day Two Recap

GRINNELL, Iowa – Wisconsin-Eau Claire earned its second-straight NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championship on Saturday, led by two individual titles by Josh Thorson.

Thorson earned the title in the 5,000-meter with a time of 14:16.46 on Friday and added to his trophy collection with a win in the 3,000-meter on Saturday, turning in a winning time of 8:25.25.Nick Petersson followed with a third place finish at 8:27.27, just .01 seconds shy of second-place. Darin Lau came in at 8:30.16, earning a sixth place finish. The trio were key to the Blugold win, collecting 19 points in the event, giving Wis.-Eau Claire a 1-point lead over Wis.-Whitewater after 16 events.

Alex Mess earned eight points in the shot put, taking second with a toss of 17.62 meters.

In the final event of the meet, the 4x400-meter relay of Jimmy Paske, Kevin Brooks, Will LaJeunesse and Brandon Christnovich finished sixth with a time of 3:18.58, earning three points for the Blugolds to secure the program's second national title with 53 points.

Wis.-Whitewater finished in second with 49 points while Wis.-La Crosse was third with 40.

On the women's side, Sarah Glidden took third in the high jump with a height of 1.69 meters while the 4x4oo-meter relay team of Amber Harris, Jessie Reineck, Ashleigh Buergi and Jessica Rupnow finished seventh with a time of 3:53.65.