In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

trackfield-indoor-men-d2 flag

Minnesota State-Mankato Athletics | March 2, 2014

Minnesota State-Mankato finishes first at the NSIC championships

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Fourth-ranked Minnesota State-Mankato totaled 184 points en route to a first-place finish at the NSIC indoor championship meet. This marks the fifth time the Mavericks have been crowned champions since joining the NSIC in 2009.

Minnesota State took the top spots in nine events at this year's championship. Junior David Pearcill won the championship in the triple jump and set a new meet record leaping 49 3/4. This marks the second time he has won the championship as he did so at last year's meet. Junior Khalil Jor'dan finished third in the event with a jump of 46-9.

In the weight throw, senior Chris Reed placed first with a throw of 65-9 3/4 earning his second championship in this event.

Freshman Myles Hunter earned 10 points for the Mavericks in the 60-meter hurdles finishing first with a time of 8.12 seconds. Fellow freshman Benjamin Ojika finished just behind him in second place with at time of 8.16. Senior Jerrell Hancock had a second place finish in the 60-meter dash crossing the finish line with a time of 6.84. Hancock won his third championship in the 400-meter dash (two indoor, one outdoor) with a time of 48.68.

Junior Anthony Gustafson was crowned champion in the 200-meter dash finishing with a provisional-qualifying time of 22.20. Junior Carmono Lane placed third in the event with a time of 22.39. Junior Matthew Stocker won his first ever championship in the 1,000-meter run as he finished with a time of 2:30.90.

Lewis Wins GLVC Track & Field Championship title

INDIANAPOLIS -- Lewis captured the men's GLVC indoor championships title on Saturday at the Athletics & Recreation Center. The Flyers earn their first GLVC championship since 2005.

The Flyer men finished with 148 points to claim a 37-point victory over Missouri S&T's final of 111 points. Championship host Indianapolis ended up in third place with a score of 85 points followed closely by fourth-place finisher Southern Indiana (83), with Bellarmine (53) rounding out the top five. McKendree (46), Truman State (37), Saint Joseph's (36), UW-Parkside (29) and William Jewell (15) placed sixth through 10th, respectively. Maryville (10) and Drury (8) rounded out the 12-team field.

Southern Indiana's Josh Guy was named Freashman of the Year.