GRINNELL, Iowa -- After losing its two-year stranglehold on the NCAA Division III National Indoor Track and Field crown last season, the Wartburg women reclaimed the coveted trophy in 2012.


The Knights piled up 99 points to easily win the meet, which concluded Saturday at Grinnell College’s Charles Benson Bear ’39 Recreation and Athletic Center Field House. Wisconsin-Oshkosh, which won last year’s title, was a distant second with 48 points and Washington University took third with 30.

Wartburg won three titles Saturday, including the 4x400-meter relay to finish off the meet. Skye Morrison, Faith Burt, Kendra Kregel and Nevada Morrison teamed up to win the race in 3:45.66.

Nevada Morrison added a win in the 400 in 55.80, while Laura Sigmund took first in the 5000 with a time of 17:01.82.

Like Nevada Morrison, Christy Cazzola of Wisconsin-Oshkosh was also a double winner Saturday by claiming the 800 and mile in 2:13.40 and 4:51.99, respectively.

Other champs Saturday included Methodist’s Ashlynn Chavis in the 60 (7.54), Birmingham-South’s Tiarra Goode in the 60 hurdles (8.56), Illinois College’s Melissa Norville in the triple jump (12.58 meters/41-3 ¼) and Salisbury’s Chelsea Tavik in the shot put (14.29 meters/46-10 ¾).