trackfield-indoor-women-d3 flag

WIAC Athletics | March 1, 2014

Wisconsin-La Crosse earns second consecutive WIAC title

WHITEWATER, Wis. -- Wisconsin-La Crosse posted its second consecutive first-place finish at the 2014 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women's Indoor Track & Field Championship following two days of competition at UW-Whitewater's Kachel Fieldhouse.

The Eagles secured the 22nd championship plaque in program history with 207 points to surpass Wisconsin-Oshkosh's second-place total of 134 points. Wisconsin-Whitewater placed third with 92 points, Wisconsin-Stevens Point fourth with 79, UW-Stout fifth with 60, UW-Eau Claire sixth with 56.50, Wisconsin-Platteville seventh with 45.50, Wisconsin-River Falls eighth with 27 and Wisconsin-Superior ninth with 1.

UW-La Crosse won three individual titles and both relay crowns during the second day of events. Jamie Ludwigson established a conference meet record en route to earning her second consecutive championship with a time of 7.72.  She was also victorious in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.85.

Bria Halama captured the triple jump title with a leap of 39-11 1/2 and was a member of triumphant 4x400-meter relay quartet that set a conference meet record time of 3:52.49.  She was joined by Jenna Halvorson, Shannon Klein and Claire Elliott. Halvorson and Elliott also contributed to the 4x200-meter relay team that established a conference meet record clocking of 1:41.28. They were united by Maggie Slatter and Meg Heafy.

UW-Oshkosh's Christy Cazzola secured the 3,000 with a conference meet record performance of 9:49.49, while Kylee Verhasselt posted a first-place finish in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:13.48.

UW-Whitewater's Lexie Sondgeroth successfully defended her title in the 200 with conference meet record time of 24.70.  Shelby Mahr earned the 20-pound weight throw crown with a fling of 59-0 3/4.

UW-Stout's Megan Ward accumulated 3,589 points to establish a conference meet record enroute to winning the pentathlon.

UW-Stout's Jessika Smith received the Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season.  It included one member from each school. Named to the squad were:  UW-Eau Claire's Kelsey Weigel; UW-La Crosse's Kelly Conner; UW-Oshkosh's Abby Martin; UW-Platteville's Lynea Axelson; UW-River Falls' Hillary Geipel; UW-Stevens Point's Aryn DeGrave; UW-Stout's Alexa Bitzer; UW-Superior's Christina Micheletti; and UW-Whitewater's Emily Pladie.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners