trackfield-indoor-women-d1 flag

SEC Athletics | March 2, 2014

Florida captures third SEC championship in past five years

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- Florida claimed the 2014 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday in front of 2,846 fans at the Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium on the campus of Texas A&M.

Florida scored 102 total team points to win their third SEC indoor championship in the last five years and eighth all-time. Texas A&M placed second with 96.5 points, while Arkansas was third with 93.5.

Kentucky’s Kendra Harrison became the first athlete in school history to win an indoor 60-meter hurdles title, doing so in a meet-record time of 7.94. She shattered the previous meet record of 8.00, set by Auburn’s Vonnette Dixon in 2000 and moved into a tie for seventh-place all- Three-time defending champion Jasmin Stowers of LSU placed second in 8.01, while Kentucky’s Kayla Parker was third in 8.16. The Wildcats picked up 21 points in that event alone.

Kentucky’s Dezerea Bryant became the first person in school history to win an indoor 60-meter dash crown, tying her own collegiate-leading time of 7.16. Alabama’s Ramona Burchell was second at 7.24, while Texas A&M’s Olivia Ekpone was third in 7.25.

Arkansas’ Grace Heymsfield won the women’s mile in a time of 4:34.82 to give the Razorbacks two titles in that event in the past three years. Florida’s Cory McGee, the defending champion, was second in 4:35.03, while Kentucky’s Allison Peare was third in 4:35.14.

Texas A&M’s Kamaria Brown claimed the women’s 400-meter run in an SEC-record time of 50.94, moving her into eighth on the all-time collegiate list in the event. She shattered the previous SEC meet record of 51.13, set by LSU’s Hazel-Ann Regis in 2004. Florida’s Robin Reynolds was second in 51.77, while Texas A&M’s Shamier Little was third in 51.86.

Brown then became the first athlete in SEC history (men’s or women’s) to complete the 200-400 double in the same year. She captured the 200m title in a time of 22.50, just shy of the meet record of 22.46. Kentucky’s Bryant was second in 22.75, while Florida’s Kyra Jefferson was third in 22.87.

Arkansas’ Stephanie Brown won the 800-meter run in a time of 2:03.21, giving the Razorbacks the first title in that event since 1992. Alabama’s Yanique Malcolm was second in 2:03.97, while Georgia’s Megan Malasarte was third in 2:04.48.

Georgia’s Leontia Kallenou won the women’s high jump title, besting South Carolina’s Jeannelle Scheper, the defending champion. Both turned in an SEC meet-record mark of 1.90m/6-2.75, breaking the previous SEC meet record of 1.88m/6-2 set by three different athletes over the years. Florida’s Taylor Burke was third at 1.87m/6-1.50.

Florida’s Ciarra Brewer won the women’s triple jump event with a mark of 13.59m/44-7, giving the Gators their first crown in that event since Shara Proctor won back-to-back in 2009 and 2010. Defending champion LaQue Moen-Davis was second at 13.47m/44-2.50, while LSU’s Lynnika Pitts was third with a mark of 13.43m/44-0.75.

Arkansas’ Dominique Scott won the women’s 5,000-meter run in a time of 16:00.73 to give the Razorbacks their first title in that event since 2009. Tennessee’s Chelsea Blaase was second in 16:06.69, while Texas A&M’s Grace Fletcher was third in 16:10.75.

Ole Miss won its first-ever SEC men’s distance medley relay title, capturing the event with a time of 9:39.54 and using the foursome of Robert Domanic, Montez Griffin, Will Spiers and Tobin. Florida was second in 9:41.66, while Texas A&M was third in 9:42.53.

Florida won the women’s distance medley relay in a time of 11:08.11, giving the Gators their second consecutive championship in the event. The quartet consisted of Rebekah Greene, Loreal Curtis, Agata Strausa and McGee. Arkansas was second in 11:13.34, while Mississippi State was third in 11:18.63. 

Florida clinched the meet with a win in the 4x400-meter relay, coupled with a Texas A&M disqualification. The quartet of Robin Reynolds, Destinee Gause, Kyra Jefferson and Ebony Eutsey clocked a time of 3:30.16 to give the Gators their first indoor 4x400m relay title since 2000. South Carolina was second in 3:35.02, while Arkansas was third in a time of 3:35.26.

Here are the 8 longest home runs in College World Series history (that we know of)

The longest home run in Men's College World Series history at Charles Schwab Field Omaha unofficially belongs to Arkansas' Brady Slavens, who went deep 436 feet in 2022. Here is the full top 8 since the stadium opened in 2011.

College World Series grand slams: A brief history

Oklahoma's Jackson Nicklaus hit the College World Series' 50th grand slam in history against Texas A&M in 2022. Here's a brief history of the previous 49.

WATCH: Florida's two track and field national champs speak after sweeping the titles

Florida's Jasmine Moore and Joseph Fahnbulleh speak with's Stan Becton after the Gators sweep the 2022 DI outdoor track and field titles.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners