trackfield-indoor-women-d2 flag

Grand Valley State Athletics | March 2, 2014

Grand Valley State claims 15th consecutive GLIAC crown

HILLSDALE, Mich. -- Grand Valley State swept the GLIAC Indoor Track & Field Championship yet again, taking the victory at the Biermann Center on the campus of Hillsdale College on Sunday. It is the fifth straight title for the men, while the women have now won an astounding 15 consecutive indoor conference titles.

The women's team racked up 159 points to take the crown, outdistancing Ashland in second (112.5), Findlay in third (75), Hillsdale in fourth (59) and Tiffin in fifth (55) to round out the top five. The remainder of the women's field was Northern Michigan (40), Saginaw Valley state (37), Wayne State (26), Ferris State (23), Lake Erie (20.5), Malone (20), Northwood (18), Lake Superior State (10) and Walsh (8).

Kalena Franklin ruled the day for the Lakers, taking home three GLIAC championships. She began her day by winning the 60 meter hurdles with an automatic qualifying time of 8.36 seconds. Later on, she dominated the field in the 200 meter dash, winning that event with a provisional time of 24.57. Finally, she teamed up in the 4x400 meter relay to help the Lakers take that victory, as well.

The running events began with the mile, where Jessica Janecke finished sixth (5 minutes, 3.17 seconds) and Hannah Osborn finished seventh (5:04.62), both hitting provisional qualifying marks.

Franklin won the 60 meter hurdles, but Carson Jones picked up three points towards the team total in the event, finishing sixth with a time of 8.91.

Andrea Kober finished fourth in the 400 meter dash with a time of 58.27, and then the Lakers cleaned up in the 60 meter dash. Michaela Lewis took the conference title in a hotly-contested race, crossing the line in a time of 7.66 seconds, winning a race where the difference between first-place and seventh-place was one-tenth of a second. Brittney Jackson was in that group, finishing fourth with a time of 7.70 and Kayla Addison was in there as well, finishing seventh with a time of 7.76.

In the 800 meter run, Lisa Galasso finished second with a time of 2:13.45, while Natalie Nelson came across in fifth with a time of 2:15.00, both provisional qualifying marks.

Franklin then hit the track again and took the 200 meter crown, but Addison wasn't far behind her, picking up a fourth-place finish with a time of 25.48 seconds.

In the 3000 meter run, GVSU had three student-athletes pick up team points, led by Kendra Foley, who finished second with a time of 9:56.39. Finishing fourth was Courtney Brewis (9:57.09), while Madie Rodts came across in fifth (9:58.96), with all three of them hitting provisional marks.

The final running event of the day was the 4x400 meter relay, where Franklin's anchor leg was preceeded by Kober, Brittney Banister and Brittany Terry. The team won the event with a provisional qualifying time of 3:52.35.

GVSU had scorers in one field event on the day for the women, but it was a great one, as a trio of Lakers scored in the women's high jump, led by Alisha Weaver, who finished third with a mark of 1.74 meters (5-8 1/2), a provisional qualifying mark. Catherine Cieslinski finished sixth with a leap of 1.61 meters (5-3 1/4), while Jordyn Kiser finished eighth with a mark of 1.56 meters (5-1 1/4).

Following the meet, head coach Jerry Baltes was named both the men's and women's GLIAC Indoor Coach of the Year, his 10th honor on the men's side and 14th on the women's side.

Franklin was named both the GLIAC Women's Track Athlete of the Year and the Regional Track Athlete of the Year, while Kristen Hixson was named the GLIAC Women's Field Athlete of the Year.

The winningest teams in DII football history

Let's take a look at the DII football teams with the most wins, best winning percentage, and most championships throughout history.

DII football: The best stadiums, according to the fans

Let's take a look at some of the best DII football stadiums per a fan vote on social media.

Keep an eye on these 7 DII football impact freshmen

We're five weeks into the 2019 DII football season and these freshmen are helping propel their teams to winning records. Take a look at some of the biggest impact freshmen, so far.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners