May 22, 2009


Courtesy of Marietta Athletics

MARIETTA, Ohio - The NCAA crowned nine national champions on the first day of the 2009 Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championship, hosted by Marietta College. In addition, all nine champions set new Don Drumm Stadium records on Thursday.

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and McMurry (Texas) University are tied atop the men's standing with 14 points after five of 21 events, while University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is leading the women's championship with 23 points after four of 21 events.

Bryan Kolacz of Keene State (N.H.) College garnered the national championship in the hammer throw with a mark of 201-8. The sophomore's throw was not only a season best, but also the top throw in the NCAA Division III this season. Kolacz's effort is also a Don Drumm Stadium record.

Gustavus Adolphus (Minn.) College senior Lisa Brown finished her college career the way it started--by winning the javelin. Brown, who won an NCAA Championship as a freshman in 2006, is now a three-time champion after winning the 2009 title with a throw of 158-feet-0 (Don Drumm Stadium record). She won last year's title with a throw of 174-5 and in 2006 with a toss of 154-6. She finished second in 2007 (152-3).

Eric Bertelsen of Buena Vista (Iowa) University won the long jump title. Bertelsen, a senior, set a Don Drumm Stadium record with a jump of 24-2. The previous mark of 24-1 stood for 34 years.

Concordia (Wis.) University junior Brock Solveson made sure that there was no tiebreaker needed in the javelin. Solveson, who tied for the longest throw at the 2008 event only to lose on a second-best throw tiebreaker, won this year's javelin with a mark of 208-5 (Don Drumm Stadium Record).

Teammates from University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh took the top two spots in the women's hammer throw. Junior Ellie Sitek won the event with a Don Drumm Stadium record throw of 175-10 to earn All-America honors for the second consecutive season. Junior Susie Trzebiatowski finished second with a throw of 173-5.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse senior Caitlin Schetter earned All-America honors for the third straight season when she took home the long jump title. Schetter, who took runner-up in 2008 and placed fifth in 2007, leaped a NCAA Division III season-best 19-10 ¼ (Don Drumm Stadium Record) in her fourth jump of the competition.

Senior William Kaul of the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh used the final two laps to take control and win the 10,000m run crown. Kaul, who finished third in the event in 2008, broke away from a tight pack of five runners with 700m left in the race and never relinquished his lead en route to a winning time of 30:54.56.

Senior Lauren Philbrook of Williams College won the 10,000 run. Philbrook, who ran a time of 35:24.78, set the Don Drumm Stadium record in the event, which had stood since 2006.

The men's pole vault was the final event to complete on Thursday. It was also the closest, as SUNY-Cortland senior Jake Zanetti held off University of Wisconsin-Stout sophomore Daniel Drewek and McMurry (Texas) University junior Thomas Dimitri to win the title. All three competitors successfully cleared a Don Drumm Stadium record 16-7 ¼, but it was Zanetti that earned the honor of national champion after he had fewer misses during his performance.

Linfield (Ore.) College junior Josh Lovell is leading the field of 17 participants in the men's decathlon after day one of competition. Lowell has collected 3,822 points, ahead of Central (Iowa) College sophomore Kurtis Brondyke (3,771 points) and Case Western Reserve (Ohio) University junior Obinna Nwanna (3,707 points), who sit in second and third place, respectively.

19 student-athletes are chasing Hardin-Simmons (Texas) University senior Ashley Huston, who leads the heptathlon after four events on Thursday. Huston has compiled 3,104 points. Gustavus Adolphus (Minn.) College junior Kaelene Lundstrum sits in second place with 3,020 points, while Washington & Lee (Va.) College senior Stacy Doornbos is currently in third with 2,876 points.

Preliminary trials also took place in 10 other events, during which time seven of those set new Don Drumm Stadium.

On Friday, seven more NCAA championships will be handed out as the men's and women's discus throw, women's pole vault and men's and women's 3,000m steeplechase finals will take place along with the remaining events in both the men's decathlon and women's heptathlon.