CLAREMONT, Calif. -- The second day of the Division III Track & Field Championships wrapped up on Friday and three more individual championships were earned in the high jump, hammer throw and the decathlon. The state of Wisconsin is well represented in the men's team standings as the Badger State boasts the top three spots with Wisconsin-Stout leading with 28 points followed by Wisconsin Oshkosh in second (21) and Carthage (16) in third heading into Saturday.

In the hammer, top seed Peter Delzer led a 1-2 finish for Wisconsin Oshkosh, producing a winning throw of 210-2 on his second round attempt. Teammate Ben Ludtke placed second with a third round toss of 199-5 to give the Titans a total of 18 points in the event. Ripon's Adam Sellner (194-6) finished in third.

Carthage's Travis James prevailed in the men's high jump with a clearance of 6-10 1/4.  James, along with Nebraska Wesleyan's Tommie Beardsley and Wartburg's Jonas Elusme (defending champion) each cleared 6-10 1/4 on their third attempt. But James, who equaled his personal best with the clearance, was the only competitor without a miss to that point en route to his first NCAA title.

Day 2 Results Day 2 Highlights
Day 1 Results Day 1 Highlights
Rochester's Ramirez looking to finish in style
Denison's Salukombo never forgets roots
Turlip advances to 1,500-meter final
Individual Qualifiers
Championship Info

In the decathlon, first-day leader Richard Roethel of Christopher Newport maintained the top spot until suffering a no-height in the pole vault, paving the way for defending champ Ethan Miller of Central to earn a second consecutive multi-event title by scoring 7,017 points. Miller enjoyed efforts of 14.92 in the 110 meter hurdles and 14-9 in the pole vault during Friday's competition. Wisconsin Stout's Brandon Zarnoth finished in the runner-up spot with 6,784 points.

In preliminary events, local favorite Marcus Fortugno of La Verne, the 400 meter runner-up from last year's championships, ran the fastest preliminary time with a 47.83 clocking to move into the finals. Wisconsin La Crosse's Aric Hoeshcen (47.89) and McMurry's Kevin Cunningham (48.11) also won their heats. 

Freshman Justin Johnson of St. Norberg enters Saturday's 110 meter hurdle final with a top time from the prelims at 14.15 with top seed Junior Saint Preaux from McMurry posting a time of 14.34 to advance. Dominique Kone of Colby recorded the fastest time in the 100 prelims as he won the first heat with the fastest time of the season at 10.39.  Top seed Kenneth Turner of McMurry won his heat with a time of 10.50 and the next three qualifiers all ran 10.58.

The top two seeds in the 800 meters -- Wabash's Jake Waterman (1:50.11) and St. Thomas's Mike Hutton (1:52.16) -- each won their heats entering Saturday's final. They will also be joined by Occidental freshman Cole Williams, who posted the second-fastest prelim time with a 1:51.96 effort.