Isidro Garcia anchors the 4X400 for ASU.
Lone Star Conference

Abilene Christian, winner of 19 consecutive Lone Star Conference outdoor championships, finally saw its title streak come to an end on Saturday at the hands of Angelo State at the Buffalo Sports Complex on the campus of West Texas A&M.

The Wildcats did not go down without a fight as the overall team championship came down to the 4x400-meter relay.  Heading into the final event of the meet, West Texas A&M led with 144.5 points, ACU was second with 139 points and Angelo State was third with 138 points.

The Buffalos needed to finish in fourth place to secure the championship, but they came in eighth, leaving the door open for both ASU and ACU. The Wildcats needed to beat the Rams to retain the title, but ASU's Dallas Gray, Luis Perez, Robbie Thayer and Isidro Garcia prevailed in a time of 3:10.45, while ACU was third in 3:14.29.

It was the 11th overall conference championship for the Rams and their first since 1992. They finished with 148 points, West Texas A&M held on for second with 145.5 points and Abilene Christian was third with 145 points.

Tarleton State (82) finished in fourth place followed by Texas A&M-Commerce (79), Incarnate Word (63), Texas A&M-Kingsville (58), Eastern New Mexico (50) and Harding (46.5).

In addition to winning the 4x400 relay, Angelo State also picked up victories in the 400 meters and 400-meter hurdles. Freshman Perez and Gray took first and second for the Rams in the 400 meters in 47.33 and 47.82, respectively. Jeffrey Jones took home the 400 hurdles with a time of 52.26.

Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Jeron Robinson, a high jumper, set the only meet record of the day when he cleared 7-4.25 and solidified his hold as the top high jumper in NCAA Division II this year.

The host Buffalos notched the most victories on the day with a total of four. Taylor Johnson got it started by winning the first event of the day with a 197-1 toss in the javelin. Cameron Lacour picked up their next win with a dominant performance in the 100-meter hurdles, winning in 14.07.

Kenny Jackson won the 100 meters for the Buffs with a 10.16 showing, just ahead of Incarnate Word’s Tommy Brown, who clocked a 10.21. The final win for WT came from Alexander Korn, who won his consecutive 800-meter title in 1:55.10.

The best overall event of the day was the long jump, in which no less than seven athletes exceeded the NCAA DII provisional standard. A&M-Commerce freshman Dakota Fountain won with a leap of 25-0.5 on his first jump in finals. A&M-Kingsville’s CJ Griggs held the lead heading into finals with a career-best jump of 24-10.5 to finish in second.

UIW had a historic win in the 4x100-meter relay when they clocked a time of 40.70. It was the school’s first LSC title with Matthew Harris, Tommy Brown, Adan Narvaez and Chris DeWitt doing the honors. Brown came back in the 200 meters with a time of 20.69 to pick up his second title of the meet.

Abilene Christian added a pair of conference titles as well. Andrew Hudson came through in the discus with a winning mark of 180-7 and Xavier King provided an exciting 250-meter kick to pass three runners and win the 1,500 meters in 3:58.61.

The remaining individual conference title went to Eastern New Mexico’s Kaspars Briska in the 5,000 meters. He outpaced the competition with a time of 15:11.75.