DUBUQUE, Iowa -- Wartburg won its seventh Iowa Conference championship behind 221 team points. The Knights snapped Central’s string of four consecutive titles, pushing the team to a second-place finish at 187.50 points.

"We are very proud of the men's team as they had a great day one and you can't get to the finals without qualifying in the prelims," head coach Marcus Newsom said. "After we fell just two points short at the indoor meet, they all regained their focus and worked hard to achieve this outdoor championship.

"We had outstanding performances across the board. Our field events made a big difference in our teams' success. Tim [Flores] set a new conference record in the pole vault, our throwers and jumpers scored big points for us and to have two point scores in the decathlon was great."

Daniel Bonthius won the 800-meter dash (1:56.38), Flores defended his title in the pole vault (4.66m; 15 feet-3.5 in.) and Jonas Elusme won the triple jump (14.24m, 46-8 3/4).

Brandon Steggal was second in the 400m hurdles (54.29) as was Brandon Hosch in the 3,000m steeplechase (9:26.48) to earn All-Conference honors.

The 4x400m relay team of Kyle Kregel, Justin Meyer, Dominique Fagan and Bonthius took second (3:18.44) to earn All-Conference honors.

Two earned All-Conference honors in the discus throw as Coltin Hahle was second (49.15m; 161-3) and Colt Feltes was third (47.98; 157-5).

Elusme earned his first conference MVP award for field events.