trackfield-outdoor-men-d3 flag

Wisconsin-La Crosse Athletics | April 6, 2014

Top-ranked Wisconsin-La Crosse opens outdoor season with win at home

LA CROSEE, Wis. -- No. 1 Wisconsin-La Crosse opened its 2014 outdoor season with a victory in the Ashton May Invitational Saturday night at Roger Harring Stadium at Veterans Memorial Field Sports Complex. The Eagles finished with 200 team points while Wisconsin-Eau Claire was second with 159 and the Minnesota-Duluth third with 140. A total of nine teams competed.

The meet is named for former assistant women's track & field coach Ashton May, who passed away Sept. 17, 2012 after a traffic accident north of Adams, Minn.

UW-L won six individual titles Saturday as well as one relay. The Eagles' Grant Havard captured a pair of crowns, taking the discus (173-3) and hammer (204-1) throws. UW-L's Gary Trkula captured the pole vault (16-1 1/4).

On the track, Evan Ross won the 800-meter run (1:55.34), David Stilin the 1,500-meter run (3:48.91) and Andrew Rohlman the 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:20.55).

The Eagles also took the 4x100-meter relay with Matt Adams, Sam Smith, Payton Hanson and Joe Koenecke (42.37).

Other top finishes in the field events for UW-L Saturday included Rob Rohe placing second (16-1 1/4) and Jeffery Hill third (15-5 1/2) in the pole vault while Julian Greenup finished third (21-4 3/4) in the long jump and Ben Tenpas third (156-2) in the discus throw.

On the track, Joe DeRosier finished second (15.15) and Daniel Otto third (15.16) in the 110 hurdles while Jacob Peterson finished second (3:51.01) and Gerald Kerska third (3:51.54) in the 1,500 run. Garrett Kerska finished second (9:33.86) and Matt Eidenschink third (9:35.67) in the 3,000 steeplechase.

The Eagles' Nick Tehan was third (22.49) in the 200 dash and Cole Hauenstein finished third (1:56.33) in the 800 run.