trackfield-outdoor-women-d3 flag

Wisconsin-La Crosse Athletics | April 19, 2014

Wisconsin-La Crosse wins at own Phil Esten Challenge

  Jaime Ludwigson won the 200-meter dash for Wisconsin-La Crosse.

LA CROSSE, Wis -- Wisconsin-La Crosse competed at the Phil Esten Challenge on Thursday and Friday at Veterans Memorial Stadium. UW-La Crosse won the event with a total of 203 team points. UW-Oshkosh was second (112 points) and Winona State finished third (100 points).

UW-L had seven top finishers on the track. Addie Korb won the 100-meter hurdles (15.33) while Marissa Mahr won the 400 hurdles (64.14). Meg Heafy won the 100 dash (12.404), Jaime Ludwigson won the 200 dash (24.77), and Jenna Halvorson won the 400 dash (56.69). Laura Mead placed first in the 10,000 run (35:59.98). The Eagles also won the 4x100 relay (46.82) with Ludwigson, Heafy, Claire Elliot, and Maya Vazquez.

Other top finishers on the track were Erin McCauley taking third (4,362 points) and Claire Gordee (3,984 points) in the Heptathlon. Rachel Schroeder placed second in the 3,000 steeplechase (11:46.87). Katie Oden took fourth in the 1,500 run (4:42.58). Mahr finished fifth in the 100 hurdles (16.14). Elliot came in a close second in the 100 dash (12.407). In the 800, Kayla Anderson placed third (2:14.35) and Rachel Atchison finished fourth (2:14.60). Mallory Hall took second in the 400 hurdles (64.17). Elliot (25.05) and Halvorson (25.37) placed second and third, respectively, in the 200 dash. Karina Nielson placed fourth in the 5,000 run (18:25.06).  In the 10,000, Corissa Conard took third (37:58.88) and Abby Singleton finished fourth (38:59.49).

In the field events, Katrina Fuchs took fourth in the pole vault (11-00.5). Kayla Ashland placed second in the high jump (5-03.25). In the long jump, Vazquez took second (18-10) and Abby Scharbarth finished third (17-09). Ludwigson captured second in the triple jump (37-10.5).