volleyball-men-nc flag

NCAA.com | April 27, 2014

Loyola Chicago tabbed top seed in NCAA tournament

NC Men's Volleyball: 2014 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Men’s Volleyball Committee announced the six teams vying for the 2014 National Collegiate Men’s Volleyball Championship. The top two seeds have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two play-in matches. The play-in matches will take place April 29 and the semifinals and final will take place May 1 and 3. The play-ins, semifinals and championship will all be played in Chicago, at Gentile Arena. Loyola Chicago is the host.

In the first play-in match No. 3 seed Stanford (22-8) will be paired with No. 6 seed Erskine (21-6), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play No. 2 seed BYU (21-8). In the second play-in match No. 4 seed Lewis (23-7) will play No. 5 seed Penn State (24-6). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play No. 1 Loyola Chicago (27-1). Game times for the play-in matches are 7 and 9 p.m. ET. Game times for the semifinals are 7 and 9 p.m. ET. The championship match will be played at 8 p.m. ET. The semifinals will be streamed live on www.NCAA.com and the championship match will be broadcast live on ESPNU.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification include Conference Carolinas, Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association, Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association and the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation. The remaining two teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

In 2013, the UC Irvine defeated BYU 3-0 to capture its second consecutive and fourth overall national championship title.


Interactive Printable


Sister Jean celebrates her 101st birthday, virtually

Sister Jean lovers across the Loyola Chicago campus and nation shared the screen Friday morning to celebrate her 101st year.

1963 NCAA tournament: Bracket, scores, stats, records

Here's everything you need to know about the 1963 NCAA tournament. This includes the bracket, scores, stats and records.

How to pick a March Madness dark horse in your NCAA bracket

Here's how to pick a March Madness dark horse.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners