volleyball-men-nc flag

NCAA.com | April 23, 2017

NCAA Men's Volleyball Committee announces championship selections

NC Men's Volleyball: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS--The NCAA Men’s Volleyball Committee announced today the six teams vying for the 2017 National Collegiate Men’s Volleyball Championship. The top two seeds have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two opening round matches. The opening round matches will take place May 2 and the semifinals and final will take place May 4 and 6.  The opening rounds, semifinals and championship will all be played in Columbus, Ohio, at St. John Arena.  The Ohio State University is the host. 


In the first opening round match No. 3 seed BYU (24-4) will play No. 6 seed Barton (23-5), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play No. 2 seed Long Beach State (27-3).  In the second opening round match No. 4 seed Hawaii (26-5) will be paired with No. 5 seed Penn State (21-10). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play No. 1 seed Ohio State (30-2). Game times for the opening round matches are 6 and 8 p.m. Eastern time. Game times for the semifinals are 6 and 8 p.m. Eastern time. The championship match will be played at 7 p.m. Eastern time.  The semifinals will be streamed live on www.NCAA.com and the championship match will be broadcast live on Saturday, May 6 at 7 p.m. Eastern time on ESPNU.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification include Conference Carolinas, Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association, Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association and the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation.  The remaining two teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

In 2016, Ohio State defeated BYU, 3-0, to capture its second national championship title.  For updated championship results, log on to www.NCAA.com.

Men's volleyball: Midwest Collegiate Volleyball League officially adds Mount Union

The Mount Union Purple Raiders are joining the Midwest Collegiate Volleyball League (MCVL) and will begin play in the 2020 season.

Six HBCU institutions of the SIAC will sponsor NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball

The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association (SIAC) announced today the addition of men’s volleyball as the league’s 14th-sponsored sport with the support of a $1 million grant from First Point Volleyball Foundation and USA Volleyball.

Long Beach State wins second consecutive NCAA men's volleyball championship

The No. 2 Long Beach State 49ers topped the top-seeded Hawaii Rainbow Warriors in four sets on Saturday night to take home the 2019 NCAA tournament title.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners